Herbed Tofu Lasagna with Zucchini

Miss Cassidy trying some of the vegan lasagna.

Maegan and Eli’s wedding reception was a potluck affair. Everyone was assigned a dish (appetizer, entree, dessert) depending on their last name. I was getting worried because I needed to make an entree (for Jake) and a dessert (for me) but then Karen (Jake’s mom) told me that I am a McGee so I only needed to make one dish. That made me feel pretty special. Karen wanted to make lasagna so I decided to make a vegan lasagna just in case there happened to be some vegany folks there who were going to be sad without anything to eat. Luckily I had a fabulous vegan in the form of Miss Cassidy who was on hand at the wedding reception and looking rather lovely in her pink bridesmaid dress (though she changed by the time I took the photo you see here) to try this recipe. More than one person said it was good and I certainly loved it. Surprisingly this was my first time making lasagna at all so I was pretty happy with the way it turned out. The tofu mixture turned out like a vegan pesto sauce and it was pretty damned good. You can find the recipe I used on the Vegetarian Times Website.

Herbed Tofu Lasagna with Zucchini
2 14-oz. pkg. firm tofu, well drained
1/2 cup chopped fresh basil
1/3 cup chopped fresh Italian parsley
1/3 cup pine nuts, toasted
2 cloves garlic, peeled
2 Tbs. lemon juice
1 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes
1/4 tsp. sugar
1 Tbs. olive oil
4 medium-size zucchini, cut into 1/2-inch slices (about 3 cups)
5 cups marinara sauce
16 no-cook lasagna noodles (9 oz.)

1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Coat 13×9-inch baking dish with cooking spray.
2. Combine tofu, basil, parsley, pine nuts, garlic, lemon juice, salt, red pepper flakes and sugar in food processor; blend until smooth and similar to ricotta in texture.
3. Put oil and zucchini in large nonstick skillet. Sauté 3 to 5 minutes over medium-high heat, or until just tender.
4. Spread 3 Tbs. marinara sauce over bottom of prepared baking dish.
5. Cover with layer of noodles, overlapping slightly, half of tofu mixture and half of zucchini mixture. 6. Top with another layer of noodles, remaining tofu and zucchini, and 1/2 cup sauce. Finish with another layer of noodles and remaining sauce.
7. Cover with foil, and bake 1 hour. Let rest 10 minutes before serving.

Leave a Reply

