Microwave Beer Bread

Microwave Beer Bread

This recipe comes to us all courtesy of Sarah Kramer and Tanya Barnard’s “The Garden of Vegan” cookbook. Please take note of the link to buy it on the Cookbooks page. I came across this while I was in Tucson leafing through my cookbooks and decided to type the recipe into my computer so I could make it for Jake when I got up to Alaska. When I saw this in the cookbook my first thought was: “There is no way that something that easy can be good at all.” I’m happy to be wrong. I’m also happy to have this recipe. I plan many spice-y additions to this basic recipe in the future. One thing that I did differently when making this was using whole wheat flour rather than regular white flour. Do not make the same mistake that I did when I subbed this in: I did not sift the flour enough. The bread turned out heavier than I wanted (but still pretty damned delicious for a bread made in the MICROWAVE!) and after some internet research I’ve come to the conclusion that I should’ve sifted the flour twice since it was wheat flour and therefore already heavier than regular white flour. The recipe calls for no sifting whatsoever, so that is what I did; a huge mistake obviously. Another thing I did was to mix in dried basil leaves with the bread dough. That was a delicious idea, but would have been even more delicious if I’d used REAL chopped basil leaves. Next time I’m definitely going to try that. I even had the pleasure of making this bread for Jake’s Aunt Eileen, who is the first person who ever showed me how to make my own bread on the very first time I met her. It made me happy to be able to make some bread for her and return the favor.

Microwave Beer Bread
3 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons dry sweetener (like raw sugar)
1 bottle FRESH beer
1 tablespoon oil

1. In a large bowl, combine flour, baking powder, salt and sweetener and whisk until well incorporated.
2. Use 1/2 tablespoon oil to coat the microwave-safe bread pan.
3. Stir beer into flour mixture. Spoon together gently until it is well mixed (BUT if you overmix your bread will turn flat).
4. Pour into the bread pan and press down.
5. Use remaining oil to moisten the top of the dough.
6. Cook on medium in the microwave for 9 minutes, then on high for an additional 2-3 minutes.
7. Check after 2 minutes to see if it is done. (Poke a fork or knife into the bread to see if it comes out clean).
8. Let it cool before slicing.

One thought on “Microwave Beer Bread

  1. One extra ingredient I enjoy is some dry onion soup mix added to the flour – how much of the envelope to add is up to the individual taste.

Leave a Reply

