Procrastinator’s Chili

Procrastinator's Chili

So you messed up eh? It’s Wednesday night, you just got home from the airport and there’s no food in the house. You’re tired and don’t want to brave the crowds at the store. What’re you going to do? Well if you’re the kind of person who keeps a good stock of the basics in your house then you’re going to make this chili. In my opinion, chili isn’t that hard to make, particularly if you have an open mind and are willing to try new things. I make at least 4 different kinds of chili, depending on what I have in the house at the moment. This is my most basic and easy chili yet. I came up with it on Wednesday when I got back from Fairbanks. I could’ve went to the grocery store but I was tired and didn’t want to bother. However I didn’t have a single vegetable in the house. So I invented a chili soup with the things that I keep stocked around the house normally that are not perishable. I’m calling it Procrastinator’s Chili because of my lazy status when I came up with it. It was also super easy because all I had to do was open a bunch of cans and add a bunch of spices. The red lentils and oatmeal give it a thickness without using something like cornstarch or flour, plus they’re super healthy for you. I’ll definitely make this again the next time I’m out of veggies.

Procrastinator’s Chili
1/2 cup red lentils
1/2 cup oatmeal
1 15oz. can kidney beans, drained and rinsed
1 15oz. can diced tomatoes with juice
1 150z. can diced tomatoes with green chilies
1 tablespoon A1 steak sauce
2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce
2 teaspoons flax seeds
2 teaspoons onion powder
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 tablespoon chili powder
1 teaspoon chipotle chili powder
2 teaspoons Italian seasoning
1 teaspoon parsley
salt and pepper, to taste
add water, depending on how thick or thin you want the soup

1. In a medium or large saucepan, combine the diced tomatoes, diced tomatoes with chilies, red kidney beans, A1 steak sauce, worcestershire sauce, flax seeds and lentils. Cook on medium 7-10 minutes.
2. Add onion powder, garlic powder, chili powder, chipotle chili powder, Italian seasoning, parsley, salt, pepper and oatmeal. Add 1/2 cup to 1 cup water if you’d like it to be a bit thinner.
3. Cook on medium for 5 minutes. Reduce heat to low and simmer till lentils and oatmeal are cooked and tender.
4. Eat with crackers, Parmesan cheese or (if you’re vegan) some nutritional yeast flakes scattered on top.

Leave a Reply

