Zucchini Italian-Style

Zucchini Italian-Style

Gotta love that “Complete Encyclopedia of Vegetables and Vegetarian Cooking” cookbook that I have. A great sale on zucchini at Fry’s means I’m gonna eat a ton of it this week…and that is one tasty veggie! I ate this alongside some really lovely basmati rice. I made a mistake with this recipe…I didn’t measure my oils. I eyeballed it and obviously put in too much, so they look rather oily in this picture. It didn’t really make them taste terrible, just slick as seals. I’ve learned my lesson from this. I’ll continue measuring my oil amounts till I get better at eyeballing the measurements. Anyway, this recipe was tasty and easy to make. If you’ve got some zucchini in your fridge and not as much time as you’d like then I suggest you give this a shot.

Zucchini Italian-Style
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 tablespoon sunflower oil
1 large onion, chopped
1 garlic clove, crushed
4-5 medium zucchini, cut into 1/2-inch slices
2/3 cup vegetable (or chicken if you’re not vegetarian) stock
1/2 teaspoon chopped fresh oregano
salt and black pepper, to taste
chopped fresh parsley to garnish

1. Heat the oils in a large frying pan and fry the onion and garlic over moderate heat 5-6 minutes or till the onion has softened and is beginning to brown.
2. Add the zucchini and fry for about 4 minutes or till they just begin to be flecked with brown, stirring frequently.
3. Stir in the stock, oregano and seasoning. Simmer gently 8-10 minutes, until the liquid has almost evaporated.
4. Spoon the zucchini into a serving dish and sprinkle with parsley and serve.

4 thoughts on “Zucchini Italian-Style

  1. Pingback: Zucchinata at the next Kale Force Potluck (6PM, Wednesday, Sept.12) « Powell River 50-Mile Eat Local Challenge

Leave a Reply

