Apple Burgers

Apple Burgers

This recipe from the “Vegetarian Planet” cookbook was interesting enough (Apple burgers?! Seriously?!) to make me want to try it. It also ended up being pretty simple. I haven’t used Granny Smith apples much and I have a small bag of them that I bought for the previous recipe. They’re a bit too tart for me to eat on my own so I’m glad I have these recipes to try. I haven’t tried too many recipes from this cookbook yet so I was excited to try another. These were super tasty, but I had a lot of trouble getting them to stick together in a shape. However, since I was eating them in an open-faced sandwich kind of way it wasn’t really necessary for them to stick together so well. I tried them first topped with some medium salsa and then with ketchup. I liked the sweetness the ketchup gave to them best.

Apple Burgers
1 cup minced onion
2 tart apples (such as Granny Smith), grated
8 slices toasted sandwich bread
1 large green bell pepper, seeded and chopped
1 tablespoon minced fresh ginger
2 cups cooked white or brown rice
6 tablespoons rolled oats, ground in a blender
1/2 teaspoon of salt, or more to taste
black pepper, to taste
1 tablespoon canola oil

1. Put the onion into a large bowl.
2. Squeeze the grated apples lightly to remove excess juice then add them to the bowl.
3. Chop the bread very fine and whirl it to crumbs in a food processor.
4. Add the bread crumbs, bell pepper, ginger, cooked rice and half of the ground oats to the apple and onion. Mix well. Season with salt and pepper.
5. Form patties about 1 1/2 inches thick (should make 4).
6. Place a large skillet over medium heat and add the oil.
7. Coat the patties with the remaining ground oats.
8. Cook them for 2-3 minutes per side or till they brown slightly.
9. Serve with hot sauce, slaw or ketchup.

One thought on “Apple Burgers

  1. Pingback: Jamaican Veggie Burgers « A Poet in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

