Baked Eggs over Tomato Sauce

Baked Eggs over Tomato Sauce

There is a person whose blog I link to from mine and whose cooking is so fabulous that you can’t help but say a prayer that someday you’ll sit at his table for dinner. This is the mastermind behind Rufus’ Food and Spirits Guide. I subscribe to his blog and when I saw this little gem of a recipe I could not resist trying it out. I did change a few things about the recipe because I didn’t have any mushrooms in my fridge, so I used broccoli. You can find the original recipe as he made it on his blog. You should definitely make his blog a regular read; you won’t be disappointed. I made one unconscious mistake in this recipe, and that was using medium eggs rather than large. Although the recipe doesn’t specify which size of eggs you need to use, I couldn’t quite cover the entire top of the pie. I would definitely make sure you had large eggs, or a ton of smaller ones. This is an absolutely perfect recipe for brunch or lunch. It’s a lovely combination of breakfast and the savory goodness of lunch.

Baked Eggs over Tomato Sauce
8-12 large Roma tomatoes seeded and chopped
1/2 cup onion diced fine
2 small-medium stalks of broccoli, cut into florets
2 tbsp fresh basil chopped
5-6 eggs
Salt and pepper, to taste

1. Melt a tablespoon of butter and a tablespoon of olive oil in large frying pan.
2. Fry onion over medium heat until translucent.
3. Add broccoli and brown.
4. Add tomatoes, 1/2 the basil and season with salt and pepper. Cook on medium until sauce thickens.
5. Spoon sauce into a 9″ pie plate. Sprinkle with some basil, salt and pepper.
6. Carefully crack eggs over sauce in one even layer. Season again with the last of the basil, salt and pepper.
7. Bake in an oven set to 375 degrees until whites have just set, about 8 minutes. To aid in the eggs setting without overcooking the yolk add a 1/2 cup boiling water to another pan below the eggs in the oven. The steam will help set the top faster.

3 thoughts on “Baked Eggs over Tomato Sauce

  1. That doesn’t look like a mistake to me. But thanks for mentioning the size of eggs, I’ll specify in the future. I think we normally get large, I have to look. Sometimes it’s just what’s on sale. Thanks also for saying such nice things about my blog. I think I was blushing! So glad you liked the dish.

  2. Pingback: Mexican Baked Eggs « Erin's Adventures in Cooking

Leave a Reply

