Tofu Rancheros

Tofu Rancheros

I just got home from my first shift at the Arizona Health Sciences Library and I decided that the best way to celebrate is to post this recipe from the Vegetarian Times website that I made a couple of days ago for dinner. It’s late right now (almost 1:30am) so honestly I’m going to have a glass of orange juice, wash my face and go to bed, but I thought I’d go out in style this evening by leaving you with this recipe. This was super easy to make and pretty delicious. This is a great alternative to the normal huevos rancheros that includes eggs, so vegans take note! Sometimes eating eggs makes me ill, so I’m always on the lookout for something sassy with major tofu power. Honestly (and I’m so not ashamed to admit this), I think that the thing I loved most about this recipe were the refried beans. Even though they just came out of a can they were such a welcome balance to the spicy sauces in the tofu mixture. Plus refried beans is not something that I eat often unless I go out to a Mexican restaurant. I never think to make them myself. The night I made this for dinner (I actually think I made this on Monday night) these beans were just what I needed. So filling and so great in my tummy! Yum! So I definitely recommend making this. And remember that if you’re not a vegan you can always sub eggs where the tofu goes in this recipe. See kids…we can all get along!

Tofu Rancheros
2 teaspoon vegetable oil
1 medium onion, minced (1 cup)
1 tablespoon chili powder
2 teaspoons cumin
2 teaspoons oregano
1 15-oz. can tomato sauce
1 cup diced extra-firm tofu (14 oz.)
2 tablespoons lime juice
1 15-oz. can Refried Beans with Green Chiles, warmed
6 6-inch corn tortillas
2 tomatoes, diced (2 cups)
1 avocado, diced (1 cup)
1/4 cup chopped cilantro

1. Heat oil in skillet over medium heat. Add onion, chili powder, cumin, and oregano. Sauté 5 minutes. 2. Stir in tomato sauce, tofu, and lime juice; simmer 10 minutes.
3. Spread beans on tortillas, and top with tofu mixture. Garnish with tomatoes, avocado, and cilantro.

2 thoughts on “Tofu Rancheros

Leave a Reply

