Herby Potato Rösti

With egg on the left, without egg on the right.

I originally found this recipe in the “Easy Vegetarian” cookbook. The original version had me shredding potatoes and whatnot but as I read I thought: “Easy? I can make this even easier than they did!” So instead of grating a bunch of potatoes, I bought some frozen hash browns at the store. I did chop up the herbs because I just happened to have a good amount of both of them in the house, but you wouldn’t have to go to all that trouble. Dried herbs would work just as well, or even ground herbs, as long as you keep the measurements appropriate. I actually tried two things with this recipe. First I made the recipe according to the directions in the cookbook, then I cracked 2 eggs into a bowl, scrambled them up with my chopsticks (like any good American gal who lived in China knows how to do), and added them to the mixture to make it stick together better. Both ways worked well. This was definitely more of a breakfast kind of food than anything you’d serve for dinner. I ate mine for lunch with iced italian roast. It was yummy.

Herby Potato Rösti
3-4 cups frozen shredded hash browns
3-4 large sage leaves
a sprig of thyme, leaves stripped
1/4 cup olive oil
sea salt and black pepper

1. Thaw the frozen hash browns and put them in a bowl.
2. Finely chop the sage and thyme leaves, discarding any woody stalks.
3. Add the herbs to the grated potato and mix well.
4. Using your hands, shape a heaped tablespoon of the mixture into a ball. Shape the rest of the mixture in the same fashion.
5. Heat half the oil in a large skillet until hot. Add the shaped potato cakes to the skillet and flatten with a spatula. Saute 5 minutes or till golden.
6. Turn the rösti over and lower the heat. Continue to cook for 5-10 minutes until golden and cooked through. Repeat with the remaining mixture.
7. Transfer the rösti to a serving plate, sprinkle with salt and pepper and serve immediately.

3 thoughts on “Herby Potato Rösti

Leave a Reply

