Avocado and Lime Ice Cream

Avocado and Lime Ice Cream

I think we’ve already had this talk earlier in the summer when I first moved down to Tucson but…damn it’s HOT down here! In the next 2 years of living here I’m sure you’re going to see more recipes for cooling salads, chilly desserts and frosty drink mixes. One of my favorite cookbooks, possibly THE favorite on my shelf at the moment, the “Encyclopedia of Vegetables and Vegetarian Cooking” has many tempting dessert solutions to my scalding problem. I chose to make this ice cream for 3 reasons. For one, Jake doesn’t really like avocadoes so (like mushrooms, which he also hates) I eat as many as I can while he’s gone. The second reason is that I would never have thought to combine avocado and lime into an ice cream even though the two flavors normally go well together. So I just had to try it. The third reason is one of pure convenience…I do not have an ice cream machine and this recipe does not require one. I have another ice cream recipe that I want to try a bit later that also does not use an ice cream maker and is more kid-friendly. You’ll probably be seeing that recipe in the next week or two.

Avocado and Lime Ice Cream
4 egg yolks
1 1/4 cups heavy cream
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 ripe avocadoes
grated rind of 2 limes
juice of 1 lime
2 egg whites

1. Beat the yolks in a heatproof bowl.
2. In a saucepan, heat the cream with the sugar, stirring it well until it dissolves.
3. As the cream rises to the top of the pan at the point of boiling, remove it from the heat.
4. Gently pour the beaten egg yolks into the scalded cream, adding them in small amounts from a height above the saucepan. This prevents the mixture from curdling.
5. Allow the mixture to cool, stirring it occasionally, then chill.
6. Peel and mash the avocadoes until they are smooth, then beat them into the custard with the lime rind and juice.
7. Check for sweetness. Ice cream should be quite sweet BEFORE freezing, as it loses flavor when ice-cold. Add extra sugar now if you think it is needed.
8. Pour the mixture into a shallow container and freeze it until it is slushy. Beat it well once or twice as it freezes to prevent large ice crystals from forming.
9. Whisk the egg whites until softly stiff and fold them into the ice cream.
10. Return the mixture to the freezer and freeze until firm. Use within 4 weeks.

3 thoughts on “Avocado and Lime Ice Cream

  1. I need to work up the nerve to try this. I don’t mean to sound negative. I just have never tried it and always stick to my normal ice cream flavors and using avocados for guac. I think the texture has to be great. Hope you get a break from the heat soon.

    • You’ve gotta try it! I’ve been enjoying it a lot. It’s quite refreshing and surprisingly filling. The joys of combining lime AND avocado.

Leave a Reply

