Zucchini and Thyme Fritters

Zucchini and Thyme Fritters

This recipe from the “1,000 Vegetarian Recipes” cookbook looked easy and tasty. The perfect choice for lunch in a place as hot as Tucson where I want the stove on as little as possible. I did a couple of things differently when I made this recipe. I didn’t have fresh thyme around, so I used dried. I also used heavy cream because I didn’t have any milk. I don’t think either change made it any less delicious. These are tasty little zucchini pancakes. I ate my first one plain. Then I tried the next one with Ranch dressing and the last one with maple syrup. There wasn’t a thing I could do to make these taste terrible. They’re just great. I would definitely recommend making these for breakfast, brunch or lunch with some sausages (for you meat eaters), and maybe some fresh fruit like orange sections.

Zucchini and Thyme Fritters
3/4 cup self-rising flour
2 eggs, beaten
1/4 cup milk
2 zucchini
2 tablespoons fresh thyme
1 tablespoon oil
salt and pepper, to taste

1. Strain the self-rising flour into a large bowl and make a well in the center. Add the eggs to the well and, using a wooden spoon, gradually draw in the flour.
2. Slowly add the milk to the mixture, stirring constantly until a thick batter is formed.
3. Meanwhile, wash the zucchini then grate over a sheet of paper towel placed in a bowl to absorb some of the juices.
4. Add the zucchini, thyme, salt and pepper to the batter and mix thoroughly.
5. Heat the oil in a large heavy skillet. Taking a tablespoon of batter for a medium-sized fritter or half a tablespoon for a smaller-sized fritter, spoon the mixture into the hot oil and cook the fritters, in batches, for 3-4 minutes on each side.
6. Remove the fritters and drain them thoroughly on absorbent paper towels. Keep the fritters warm in the oven while making the rest. Transfer to serving plates and serve hot.

2 thoughts on “Zucchini and Thyme Fritters

Leave a Reply

