French Onion Poached Eggs

French Onion Poached Eggs

Last night I made french onion soup for dinner. Obviously I didn’t finish it all, so I had a large bowl of leftovers in my fridge. Most people who know me well know that I like salty breakfast food better than sweet. I decided to use some of the leftover french onion soup as a topping for toast and eggs. Frying an egg didn’t sound so appealing to me, so instead I looked up instructions on how to poach eggs. This was my first ever attempt at poaching eggs and I’m pretty happy with the way it came out. I found the poaching instructions on the Incredible Egg website here. I did an internet search for “how to poach an egg” and one of the first websites that came up was the incredible egg website. I checked it out and decided to stick with their example as I figured they’re probably pretty dang reliable since they love eggs for a living. Can you imagine getting paid to love eggs and promote them? How awesome would that job be? Of course, I think I would prefer some other food more than eggs…maybe something like quinoa or olive oil or soup or onions. Okay I admit it…I’d probably take ANY food appreciation job that was offered to me. Yum. Anyway, stay tuned for another recipe to use up leftover french onion soup in the next few days.

French Onion Poached Eggs
2-4 eggs, COLD
salt and pepper, to taste
basil or dill, to taste

1. Heat 2-3 inches of water in a saucepan or deep skillet to boiling. Adjust heat to keep the water simmering gently.
2. Break eggs, one at a time, into a small saucer. Holding the dish close to the surface, slip the egg into the water.
3. Cook eggs until whites are completely set and yolks begin to thicken but are not hard. About 3-5 minutes. Do not stir.
4. Lift eggs from water with a slotted spoon. Drain in spoon.
5. Sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste. Sprinkle with basil or dill or some other spice, to taste.
6. Serve immediately with a side of toast drenched in french onion soup and topped with cheese.

2 thoughts on “French Onion Poached Eggs

Leave a Reply

