Raspberry Syrup and Raspberry-Mint Ice Cream Pie

I had a pre-prepped graham cracker crust lying in wait in my cupboard and wanted a chilly dessert to fend off the remaining September Tucson heat. I wanted to come up with a fun ice cream pie using a fruit sauce. Raspberries seemed the most likely choice as it is normally tart so combining it with ice cream equalized the flavor a bit. The addition of peppermint was a rather brilliant (if I do say so myself) last minute decision. I did freeze a little medicine cup’s worth of the version without peppermint and both are definitely yummy, however, if you want to add a little bit of that fresh, cooling peppermint taste it definitely goes well. One thing I’d caution you on is to watch the amount of peppermint extract you add into the mixture.

Raspberry-mint Ice Cream Pie

Less is more, so to speak. Add in the smallest amount (maybe only 1 of the 2 teaspoons I suggest), make sure it’s mixed in THOROUGHLY and then give it a taste. Keep doing this until you have your preferred level of peppermint infused into the ice cream mixture. I’m very very proud of this recipe. It came from my own head (though I’m sure I am not the first to think of it) and it’s absolutely one of the most delicious desserts that I’ve eaten lately. I’m SO proud of myself for this one. I’m also proud of the “New York Times” where I got the recipe for the raspberry syrup to add to my ice cream pie.

Raspberry Syrup
2 cups raspberries or other berries
1 1/2 cups sugar, plus 2 tablespoons
1/2 teaspoon fresh lemon juice.

1. Combine berries, 2 tablespoons sugar and 1 cup water in a medium saucepan with a heavy bottom.
2. Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly, until berries begin to break down and release their juices, about 4 minutes.
3. Add 1 1/2 cups cold water and lemon juice.
4. Bring to a boil, then immediately turn down to a simmer and skim off any foam that bubbles to top. Cook for 15 minutes.
5. Strain into bowl through cheesecloth-lined strainer, pressing on fruit to squeeze out juices.
6. Return the liquid to the pan and add 1 1/2 cups sugar. Stir until sugar dissolves. Bring to a boil and cook for 2 minutes. Remove from heat and let cool. Store in a tightly sealed container in the refrigerator for up to 3 weeks.

Raspberry-Mint Ice Cream Pie
1 prepared graham cracker pie crust (or make your own)
1 recipe Raspberry Syrup
3 cups vanilla ice cream, partially melted
2 teaspoons peppermint extract
mint leaves, ripped (optional)

1. In a medium mixing bowl, combine the raspberry syrup, vanilla ice cream, peppermint extract and mint leaves (if you’re including them).
2. Mix until well incorporated.
3. Pour mixture (carefully) into the graham cracker crust.
4. Freeze overnight or till set and frozen firmly throughout.

3 thoughts on “Raspberry Syrup and Raspberry-Mint Ice Cream Pie

    • It was SO good. You have no idea. And it’s so sweet that you don’t need to eat even a normal-sized piece to get your fill of dessert-ness.

  1. Now that I think about it, I wish I had reserved a cup of the raspberry syrup to put at the table as a brighter red topping. Or even frozen it in layers of raspberry syrup and syrup-ice cream mixture. Next time.

Leave a Reply

