Rum-Baked Bananas

I found this recipe in the “Encyclopedia of Vegetables and Vegetarian Cooking” and decided to mark it with a sticky note to remember to make it later. That was about a month ago. I actually made these for a sweet and tasty breakfast the other day because Jake and I are working on getting fit and part of that is committing to eating more fruit. Mostly we eat no fruit. That’s kind of bad. We drink fruit juices (usually orange or apple, and sometimes cranberry) but that’s not really enough. So we’ve started out with eating fruit twice a week. Once we’ve got that down we’ll move it up to 3 times and so on till we’re getting a better amount of fruit in our diets.

Rum-Baked Bananas

This was super yummy and, as I mentioned before, works for breakfast as well as dessert. As a breakfast I felt slightly decadent even though I wasn’t really eating anything too bad (except for the butter and sugar). One thing I changed about this recipe is that I used raw sugar instead of brown sugar. I’d say this was to be healthier, but I’d be lying. It was 7:30am and the coffee hadn’t finished brewing yet and the brown sugar was on the top shelf that I need a stool to get into that is also behind the microwave so I have to move the microwave to get to it (we put the things we don’t use as often back there). Basically, I was feeling lazy and the sugar bowl (full of raw sugar) was right on the table ready for the coffee so this is what happened. I loved this with raw sugar. It was amazing. I feel no remorse in this substitution. The bananas will come out slightly mushy, so if you hate that then it’s something to consider before making it. However they leak their glorious banana juice all over and it mixes with the other ingredients and kind of cooks the bananas down in this lovely rum-oj-nanner-spice juice. Heaven never looked so good.

Rum-Baked Bananas
4 bananas
grated rind and juice of 1 orange
2 tablespoons dark rum
1/4 cup brown sugar (optional)
generous pinch of ground ginger
fresh nutmeg, grated
3 tablespoons butter

1. Preheat the oven to 350F.
2. Peel the bananas and slice them into 4 large ramekins.
3. Spoon the orange juice and rum over the sliced bananas.
4. Sprinkle with the sugar, if using, orange rind and spices. Dot with butter.
5. Cover the ramekins with small pieces of foil.
6. Bake for 15 minutes.
7. Allow to cool slightly before serving with cream or plain yogurt.

4 thoughts on “Rum-Baked Bananas

    • I know! This is my all-time favorite cookbook. I have other cookbooks I love, but they don’t hold a candle to this one!

  1. Pingback: Zucchini Crown Bread « A Poet in the Kitchen

  2. Pingback: These are a few of my favorite things « A Poet in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

