Black Russian with Coffee

Black Russian with Coffee

I love alcoholic drinks that include coffee. They are doubly decadent. Jake and I got a lot of work done today around the house and in our classes, so I felt like we deserved a late afternoon treat. This recipe for Black Russians with Coffee from Betty Rosbottom’s book was simple and got the job done. The job being the fact that it’s chilly here in Tucson and we needed something to warm up our poor throats. Now you might be saying: “Oh Erin, how can I make this drink when I don’t have any crushed ice on my fridge? How can I make crushed ice…I never went to college?!” I use my mother’s (and probably your mother’s as well, if you take the time to call and ask her, you terrible spawn) tried and true method of making crushed ice. Put ice cubes in a plastic bag and hit the bag with a hammer till the ice is crushed to your preferred consistency. Can you say consistency for ice? I guess I will. One thing to note is that these drinks are pretty strong. You may want to add a little less vodka and adjust the potency.

Black Russian with Coffee
coarsely crushed ice
1/4 cup vodka
2 tablespoons Kahlua or other coffee liqueur
3-4 tablespoons chilled or room temperature brewed coffee

1. Fill a short 8-10 oz. old-fashioned glass with ice.
2. Pour the vodka and Kahlua over the ice and stir.
3. Add 3 tablespoons coffee to the glass and stir.
4. Taste and, if you prefer a stronger coffee flavor, stir in the additional tablespoon of coffee.

3 thoughts on “Black Russian with Coffee

  1. Pingback: White Russian with Coffee « A Poet in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

