Easy Pear Tart

Easy Pear Tart

Sorry for my lack of posting! I’ve been having WAY too much fun at home with my family this Christmas. I adapted this recipe from one I found originally on the Food Network website. The original recipe used fresh pears. This one uses canned pears, as I decided to make this last minute on Christmas morning as a Christmas surprise for my parents. They were at church in the morning and I had stayed home to bake the Zucchini Crown Bread recipe for Christmas lunch. They had something like five cans of pears in syrup in the pantry so I thought: “Why not?” I really loved the way the crust turned out in this recipe. I’m not always a huge fan of pies because I don’t like the way sometimes the crust can turn really dry. This crust was thick and moist and added something to the tart rather than just seeming like a vessel holding the tart goodness. I think I actually liked the dough more than the filling! Go figure. Anyway, Jake and I were responsible for Christmas day lunch. He made a pork loin and mashed potatoes. I made the zucchini crown bread, green bean salad, gravy from the pork loin drippings, and this pear tart. My brother even helped us by providing the flour we needed to make all this stuff. I’ve never seen my mother run out of flour EVER so checking to make sure she had enough the day before didn’t seem important. However when I woke up that morning there was only about a cup of flour in the cupboard. I immediately texted my brother and asked him to hurry up and get to the house and bring all his flour with him. There was no way I was going to go to the store on Christmas Day. I don’t even think they should be open…people should be home with their families. So I refuse to go anywhere but a gas station on Christmas Day. Anyway, thankfully my brother showed up 2 hours later with the flour and I could continue with my cooking. It all turned out to be a huge success.

Easy Pear Tart
for the crust:
1/2 cup whole-grain pastry flour or regular whole wheat flour
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons granulated sugar
1/8 teaspoon salt
4 tablespoons cold, unsalted butter, cut into small pieces
2 tablespoons lowfat buttermilk
3 tablespoons ice water

for the filling:
2-3 cans of pears, in fourths
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 tablespoon plus 1 teaspoon cornstarch
3 tablespoons light brown sugar
1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon

for the glaze:
1 teaspoon honey
1/4 teaspoon boiling water

1. To prepare the crust, in a medium bowl whisk together the whole-wheat pastry flour, all- purpose flour, granulated sugar and salt.
2. Add the butter and using two knives or a pastry cutter, cut the butter into the flour mixture until you get a pebbly, course texture.
3. In a small bowl combine the buttermilk and ice water.
4. Using a fork, gradually mix the buttermilk mixture into the flour mixture.
5. Pat the dough into a 4-inch round and wrap in plastic wrap.
6. Refrigerate for 30 minutes.
7. In the meantime, preheat the oven to 425 degrees F, and prepare the filling.
8. In a large bowl toss the pear slices with the lemon juice.
9. Sprinkle in the cornstarch, brown sugar and cinnamon and toss until the pears are evenly coated. Set aside.
10. On a lightly floured surface, roll the chilled dough into a large circle about nine inches in diameter.
11. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper, and draping the dough over the rolling pin, transfer to the prepared baking sheet. If the dough breaks at all patch it up with your fingers.
12. Arrange the pears in a mound in the center of the dough, leaving a 2-inch border.
13. Fold the border over the filling. It will only cover the pears partially and does not need to be even.
14. Bake the tart for 15 minutes, and then reduce the oven temperature to 350 degrees F, keeping the tart in the oven all the while, and bake for another 40 minutes, until the pears are tender and the crust is golden brown.
15. In a small bowl stir together the honey and boiling water to make a glaze.
16. When the tart is done remove it from the oven and brush the honey glaze all over the top of the fruit and crust.
17. Transfer to a plate to cool slightly. Cut into 6 wedges and serve warm or a room temperature.

3 thoughts on “Easy Pear Tart

  1. I agree with both of you! When I get down to a quarter of my flour tub I run immediately to the grocery store. Of course, for me the store is a 7 minute walk away. Haha. I was shocked. Usually my mom has a million extra bags stored somewhere. Running out has never happened in the history of our family. Amazing.

Leave a Reply

