Aunt’s Comin’ to Lunch Cobbler

Aunt's Comin' to Lunch Cobbler

First, can I say that I had a ton of fun cooking a few new recipes over the Christmas holiday and using my mom’s dishes for pictures? It was great. I got to work with a whole new set of dishes while I was there. Sometimes I feel like my blog can get a bit boring since I use the same dishes all the time. In fact, I recently decided that every once in a while I’m going to call up a friend and ask if I can borrow a plate and bowl (or whatever) from them so I can have different dishes featured on my website. Anyway, I’m back at home now and back to the same old dishes for a while. But here’s one last recipe from my time with my family in Ohio. I created this recipe quickly, when we decided at rather the last minute to invite my great aunt to lunch. I was going to make a potato dish, but my mother already had plans for one so she put me on dessert duty. We didn’t have a TON of stuff in the house, but we DID happen to have a pantry with many syrupy cans of fruit and a box of Jiffy baking mix. Normally I’d make the dough from scratch, but as I said before I was in a bit of a time crunch with this one. I had to use my kitchen resources and come up with an alternative. The juice below is listed as “your choice” because I don’t think that ANY juice is bad juice. I happened to use a cherry-apple juice from the local store. I think it was a good addition. This cobbler turned out even better than I expected. I thought it would be just an ordinary cobbler, but it ended up super tasty and really felt rather decadent to eat. I think it was the addition of sauces rather than a ton of whole fruit pieces. Give this one a try or come up with your own using a sauce within as well.

Aunt’s Comin’ to Lunch Cobbler
2 cans halved pears, chopped
1 can cranberry sauce, with whole cranberries
1 cup of applesauce
1-2 tablespoons chopped dates or walnuts
1/2 teaspoon orange zest
1/2 teaspoon lemon peel
1/2 teaspoon sugar
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
sprinkle of salt
1 tablespoon juice (your choice)
1 1/2 cups Jiffy baking mix
1 egg
1/2 cup milk
3 tablespoons shortening, melted

1. Preheat the oven to 400F.
2. In a medium-sized ovenproof baking dish, combine the pears, cranberry sauce, apple sauce and dates or walnuts in a bowl. Mix it together.
3. Add the orange zest, lemon peel, sugar, nutmeg, salt and juice. Stir well to combine.
4. In a mixing bowl, combine the Jiffy mix, egg, milk and shortening. Mix well.
5. Spread the mixture over the top of the fruit one tablespoon at a time. Smoothing at the end.
6. Bake 15-20 minutes or till the top turns golden brown.

One thought on “Aunt’s Comin’ to Lunch Cobbler

Leave a Reply

