Stuffed Mushroom Caps

Stuffed Mushroom Caps

So Joanne over at Fifteen Spatulas tempted me at just the right moment the other day. When Jake leaves I make things I love that he hates, such as recipes with mushrooms. Take, for instance, this recipe for Cauliflower and Mushroom Gougere that I made when Jake was in Hawaii a couple Christmases ago. Anyway, that clever minx Joanne happened to post her recipe for stuffed mushroom caps at just the exact moment that I was going through my cookbooks and searching online for a mushroom recipe. Crafty, very crafty of her. Anyway these made me super excited and I made them that very night. And I ate all of them. I’m not ashamed to admit it. And if Jake had been here and asked to try one, I might’ve bitten his hand, or possibly stabbed at it with a fork. Then I would’ve run into a corner with the plate and eaten them sneaky raccoon style. I couldn’t find asiago cheese at the grocery store I went to, so I used Romano cheese instead and the results were still just as tasty. The recipe you see below is copied directly from her website, but I would take a look at her original post for sure since she has a lovely camera and took gorgeous photos throughout the prep that you don’t want to miss.

Stuffed Mushroom Caps
8 oz. package baby bella mushrooms
3 tablespoons chopped parsley
1 teaspoons chopped tarragon
3 scallions, finely minced
1/4 cup grated parmigiano reggiano
1/8 cup grated Romano cheese
1 egg
1/4 cup italian bread crumbs
4 oz. fat free cream cheese, softened
1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
2 cloves garlic, minced
olive oil for brushing

1. Preheat the oven to 425 F.
2. Carefully remove the stems from the mushrooms, and chop them up finely either by hand or in a food processor.
3. Zap them in the microwave or cook them in a pan on the stovetop until you have gotten rid of the excess moisture.
4. Place the stems in a bowl, and add the parsley, tarragon, scallions, parmigiano reggiano, romano, egg, bread crumbs, cream cheese, cayenne pepper, and garlic.
5. Mix until it forms a smooth mixture, and season to taste.
6. Brush each mushroom cap with olive oil, and sprinkle with salt and pepper.
7. Lay them on a sheet pan, and fill them generously with a spoonful of filling.
8. Bake for 15 minutes, until the stuffing has browned.

2 thoughts on “Stuffed Mushroom Caps

Leave a Reply

