Fiesta Bell Soup

We’ve had an overflow of bell peppers in the house this weekend. Hey, I’m not complaining. The more the merrier. I started collecting red ones for a red pepper soup I wanted to try out (recipe coming in the next few days). Then Jake was going camping and wanted to make hobo dinners full of sausage and onions and bell peppers, so more appeared in our house. Then Jake found out someone else was taking care of the food for all the people on the trip, so those peppers were left in the fridge.

Fiesta Bell Soup

Then we were at the Farmers’ Market and there were bell peppers for relatively cheap at one of the stalls. I call it fate. Anyway there were tons around the house. That’s how I decided to come up with the recipe for Orange Brunch Bells the other day and how I decided to use up the rest of them in this recipe. You may note that in the picture provided there are no orange bell peppers. I used all those up the day before so we used two red ones instead. I would’ve used an orange one if I’d had it handy. Next time I want to try adding tequila instead of vodka and see what that does to the recipe. This was super tasty. I have a love-hate relationship with bell peppers in the first place. In some recipes I LOVE them and in some I HATE them. For instance, I cannot stand green bell peppers in my stir fry. I know, I know, but I just can’t eat them in stir fry. I have no idea why. This bell pepper soup passed Jake’s Eat It Again test for new recipes that come out of Erin’s brain. This test consists of me asking him: “So, is it good? Good enough to eat again? Good enough that you WANT me to make it again?” This got a “yes” or a “hell yes” to all 3 questions. SUCCESS! And I’m pleasantly proud of it as well, which is even better.

Fiesta Bell Soup
1 medium red pepper, seeded and diced
1 medium orange pepper, seeded and diced
1 medium green pepper, seeded and diced
1 medium yellow pepper, seeded and diced
1 onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 cups frozen, cooked baby shrimp
1 15oz. can golden hominy (or corn, if you’d rather)
1/2 cup fresh chopped parsley
1 tablespoon Italian seasoning
1/4 cup Italian seasoning infused vodka or regular un-infused vodka
3/4 cup orzo
salt and pepper, to taste
2 tablespoons chili powder
1/2 teaspoon cumin powder
5 cups vegetable broth
drizzle of lime juice (1 teaspoon or to taste)
2-3 soft tortillas, cut into pieces
olive oil, to fry

1. In a large soup pot, saute onion, garlic and all bell peppers in olive oil on medium heat till onions are translucent and peppers aren’t far behind.
2. Add hominy, parsley and Italian seasoning. Stir to mix together.
3. Add orzo, shrimp, salt and pepper, chili powder, and cumin powder. Stir well. Cook 3-5 minutes, stirring occasionally.
4. Add vodka, 5 cups vegetable broth and drizzle of lime juice. Stir well.
5. Bring to a boil then reduce heat. Cover and simmer till orzo is tender.
6. Eat with tortilla pieces sauteed in olive oil.

3 thoughts on “Fiesta Bell Soup

    • It’s my new Vegetarian Times magazine. The most recent issue has SO much good stuff that I can’t help trying it. Plus people (*cough cough* YOU) keep posting yummy stuff that I have to try. See? It’s SO not my fault.

  1. Pingback: Mexican Corn Stew « A Poet in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

