White Bean and Arborio Rice Soup

White Bean and Arborio Rice Soup

This recipe for White Bean and Arborio Rice Soup from the January/February 2012 issue of “Vegetarian Times” is really tasty. The original recipe called for pine nuts, but I am not that rich at the moment, so I used walnuts, a fine yumtastic substitute. I am undecided on cannellini beans in general. I have had them in dishes that I loved and also in dishes that I really didn’t like. This is one of the former. I feel the same way about cooked cabbage as well. Sometimes it is great and sometimes I can take it or leave it. This was also a great use for cabbage. I can’t wait to tell my brother, who recently inherited 6 cabbages and called me in a panic as to what to do with them. This was delicious and the leftovers even heated up well. I was also intrigued by the method of toasting the arborio rice before cooking it. I can tell you that it really gave the soup an interesting toasty flavor that worked well with the rest of the ingredients. I’m also really happy about the way my photos of this soup turned out. I don’t have the best camera (and I’m a grad student so I’ll have to wait to have nice things) so I do as best as I can and this time around things really came together. And the soup looks rad in my favorite small Chinese bowls. Total score. I definitely recommend this soup for a hearty meal with a really complex flavor. My tongue was very happy when I made this.

White Bean and Arborio Rice Soup
3 tablespoons olive oil
2/3 cup Arborio rice
3 cloves garlic, minced
3 1/4 teaspoons chopped fresh rosemary
6 cups vegetable broth
2 cups sliced cabbage
1 bay leaf
2 slices Italian bread, torn into 1-inch pieces
1/4 cup walnuts
1 15.5oz. cannellini beans, rinsed and drained

1. Heat 2 tablespoons oil in a pot over medium heat.
2. Add rice and saute 6 minutes, or till toasted, stirring occasionally.
3. Stir in garlic and rosemary and cook 2 minutes more.
4. Add broth, cabbage, and bay leaf. Cover and bring to a boil.
5. Reduce heat to medium-low and simmer 10 minutes.
6. Pulse bread and walnuts in a food processor until small crumbs form.
7. Heat remaining 1 tablespoon oil in a skillet over medium heat.
8. Add breadcrumb mixture and saute 5 minutes or till breadcrumbs are crisp and toasted.
9. Add beans to soup and cook 5 minutes more or till rice is tender.
10. Remove the bay leaf and stir in the breadcrumbs.
11. Season with salt and pepper.

3 thoughts on “White Bean and Arborio Rice Soup

  1. I love the idea of using Arborio rice in this soup! I make a similar cabbage and cannellini bean soup and will have to try it with Arborio next time! Also, I think we have very similar styles of cooking and look forward to seeing more of your recipes!

    • I was shocked at how good toasting made the rice taste. I love your blog too and I’m going to keep an eye on it in the future! 😉

Leave a Reply

