Greek Beans and Giveaway Winner!

Greek Beans

This recipe for Greek Beans from “1000 Vegetarian Recipes from Around the World” was really tasty and easy. I love recipes that involve throwing a bunch of things in a pot and then sitting around and drinking a beer or a coffee and waiting for them to finish cooking. Next time, I think I’ll try letting these beans sit and heat up on the grill alongside whatever else we’re cooking, to see if it will give them a nice smokey flavor. I have a nice cheap metal pan to put them in, so if it would happen to get ruined I wouldn’t need to cry about it. This has also made me think about other ways I can create nice bean mixtures. Next time I’ll try a couple of different kinds of beans, and instead of vegetable broth I’ll add a nice cup of stout or porter. I also think this would benefit from a little bit of brown sugar. Of course, then they might not be Greek beans anymore. Yum!

Greek Beans
2 cups navy beans (canned and drained or cooked and drained)
1 tablespoon olive oil
3 garlic cloves, crushed
1 3/4 cups vegetable bouillon
1 bay leaf
2 sprigs oregano
1 tablespoon tomato paste
juice of 1 lemon
1 small red onion, chopped
1/4 cup pitted black olives, halved
salt and pepper

1. Put the navy beans in a flameproof casserole dish or a thick bottomed pot.
2. Add the olive oil and crushed garlic. Cook over gentle heat, stirring occasionally, for 4-5 minutes.
3. Stir in the vegetable bouillon, bay leaf, oregano, tomato paste, lemon juice and red onion.
4. Cover the casserole dish and simmer for about 1 hour or till sauce has thickened.
5. Stir in the black olives, and season with salt and pepper to taste. Serve warm or cold.

  • And now for the moment you’ve all been waiting for…the winner of the giveaway is (drumroll please)…my fabulous bloggin’ buddy over at The Onyx Plate! Check out her own mouthwatering blog and then visit the grocery store (because you’ll definitely want to eat after reading!). Thanks for everyone for entering and subscribing to my blog for a while! I hope you stick around and enjoy. Who knows what giveaway I’ll do next…it might be hard to top this one.

    7 thoughts on “Greek Beans and Giveaway Winner!

      • You know Miss Kristy, it’s honestly a hit or miss tome. The nice thing is that most of the recipes are pretty easy, but most are not totally inspired. I’d buy it used via Amazon, if I were you.

    1. As Rufus said, these white beans do look great! I have an old Polish White Bean soup recipe that is amazing. Reminds me of it a little.

      Wow! Thanks for the giveaway! 🙂 I’ll send you my info. I’m excited, & what kind words you said about me. Thank you! 🙂

    Leave a Reply

    