These are a few of my favorite things

Geeze, you get sick, people visit, work and school get crazy and all of a sudden you realize you haven’t updated your blog in FOREVER. That’s what’s been going on in my world. And honestly, there’s not much to tell at the moment. Since I last posted I’ve tried two new recipes, which I will post about in the coming days, and mainly been making my normal favorites and a lot of spaghetti. So I decided to do a post of some of my favorite recipes that we have been eating the past few weeks. Take a look through the links below and recipes that I’ve written about and loved for a very long time.

Tonight I’m coming home to some lovely Jake’s Shrimp Cream Soup. This is a recipe that Jake and I created ourselves and it’s probably our favorite soup. Definitely top five.

A great use (in my opinion) of red, yellow and orange bell peppers. This Fresh Red Pepper Jam is amazing on toast with a sprinkle of cheese. I watch for sales on peppers and buy them when they’re cheap and make a TON of this stuff.

It’s been a bit hotter here the past few weeks. Spring is definitely coming and summer not far behind. In the desert that means you need easy, chilly recipes like Coffee Granita to keep you cool.

A great way to get some fruit in your diet, plus this just tastes like fabulous candy to me (as in, it’s DELICIOUS). These Rum-Baked Bananas are great for dessert. I’ve also made them for breakfast and brunch as well. Few ingredients and super easy.

We ate these for the first time with sausages (vegan ones for me) and brown rice and I was hooked. My advice is to get the frozen ones from Trader Joe’s…it just makes everything SUPER easy. These Glazed Baby Onions really hit the spot as a veggie side dish with some punch.

When I saw this recipe for Black Bean and Sweet Potato Burritos I thought the cookbook author was CRAZY. Then I tried them and almost died of happiness. Now I make these regularly. Jake doesn’t like sweet potatoes much, so I double the bean mixture and he either makes his a bean-only burrito or sometimes fries up some ground beef to add to his tortilla.

Always easy, always satisfying and always tasty. I truly adore this Two-Step Southwestern Stew and I have no idea how I survived without hominy in my life up to this point. If you don’t like hominy you CAN substitute corn. But really, who wants to substitute anything for hominy? It’s like chewy fabulous corn dumplings. If you’ve never tried them, you should at least give them a chance.

2 thoughts on “These are a few of my favorite things

Leave a Reply

