Creamy Zucchini Soup

Creamy Zucchini Soup

I recall seeing a recipe with this title in a cookbook once about a year ago. I have no idea what cookbook it was and I have no idea what ingredients it used. I just remember finding it intriguing as I’d never had a creamy soup with zucchini before. I also remember skipping over it at the time because the recipe called for blending and I didn’t own a blender at that time. I remembered this recipe suddenly a few days ago and decided to use the name but create my own. I still didn’t feel like blending it. We feel okay about blended soups in this house. We like to eat them every once in a while. But honestly, we’d rather have something with chunkiness to it. So instead, I decided to grate the zucchini so it was in smaller pieces and would mix in a bit more with the thick creaminess of the soup without blending and losing the chunkiness that we love. I didn’t want a lot of sweetness in this soup, but zucchini is a vegetable that can hang with the sweet as well as the salty. I thought a sweet Vidalia onion would be a good way to straddle that line without compromising my love of salty soups. I didn’t have a Vidalia onion when I made this, but I’m definitely going to try it next time. Jake loved this soup, gave it two thumbs up and asked me to make it sometime again. That’s called success.

Creamy Zucchini Soup
1 bulb garlic
1 tablespoon olive oil
black pepper and salt, to taste
2 tablespoons butter
1 small onion, diced
1 teaspoon lemon juice
1/2 teaspoon lemon peel
1 tablespoon dried rosemary
1/2 tablespoon white pepper
3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
2 medium zucchini, grated and left overnight to drain
4 cups half and half
salt, to taste
black pepper, to taste

1. Remove excess peel from the bulb of garlic. Place the bulb in a small ovenproof bowl.
2. Pour olive oil over the bulb and sprinkle with salt and black pepper.
3. Place the ovenproof bowl in the toaster oven. Roast the garlic for 20-25 minutes at 250F.
4. Meanwhile, in a soup pot, melt the butter and saute onion over medium heat till tender but not brown.
5. Once the garlic is roasted take it from the oven and let it cool. Squeeze the garlic cloves out of their skins and back into the bowl they were roasted in. Mash the garlic with the back of a spoon.
6. Add the garlic to the onions and saute 2-3 minutes, till fragrant.
7. Add the lemon juice, lemon peel, rosemary, and white pepper.
8. Add the flour and stir to coat.
9. Add the zucchini and half and half, bring to a boil then reduce heat and simmer 5-7 minutes or till zucchini is tender and soup is thickening.
5. Take the soup off the heat and let it cool for 3-5 minutes.
6. Add salt and black pepper to taste.
7. Serve immediately with crusty garlic bread.

3 thoughts on “Creamy Zucchini Soup

  1. Pingback: Five Fabulous Food Finds | Adventures in Cooking

Leave a Reply

