Jamaican Veggie Burgers

Jamaican Veggie Burgers

I’ve been eyeing this recipe for Jamaican Veggie Burgers in my “Vegetarian Planet cookbook” for a while now. I tried making a veggie burger once before when I made Apple Burgers and it didn’t go that well. They tasted great, but I had trouble getting them to stick together. Now I know that there’s a certain amount of dampness that these burgers need to stick together and a certain amount that makes them too goopy to stay together. I learned something. Anyway these turned out WAY better than my last ones and they were super tasty. Not too spicy, just right. We toasted some hamburger buns from a local bakery with some cheddar cheese, added mustard, ketchup and baby spinach, and ate to our heart’s content. The original recipe called for using a blender to combine the ingredients, but I used a potato masher and some good ol’ elbow grease and they turned out just lovely. You can do it either way. The recipe says that it makes 4 burgers. I estimated some of my ingredients, so perhaps I used a bit more than I should’ve, but we definitely got 6 good sized burgers out of this recipe. And thank goodness because they lasted for dinner, lunch the next day, and a much needed after hike lunch the day after. Very filling. Jake and I both liked this recipe a lot. He insists that a nice thick slab of cheddar cheese melted over the burger is absolutely necessary to the success of this veggie burger.

You may also be interested to know that I’ve decided to create a little more constancy with my posting. I’m going to start posting twice every week. I am going to post on Monday, so my fabulous readers can have a good recipe to start the week with and on Thursday so my readers can have a recipe to think about for the weekend. I may also post recipes on other days, but I’m going to commit myself to those two days in particular. I may add in extra days as well, but for the moment I’m only going to commit myself to two exact days a week.

Jamaican Veggie Burgers
4 slices stale or toasted bread
2 tablespoons canola oil
1 1/2 cups chopped onions
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 tablespoon minced fresh ginger
1/2 teaspoon allspice
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1 15-oz. can black beans, drained and rinsed
1 1/2 cups cooked rice
1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and chopped
1 teaspoon salt
ground black pepper, to taste
4-6 bulky hamburger buns
condiments and toppings, as you like

1. Break the bread into pieces and shred into a large bowl as crumbs.
2. In a large skillet, heat 1 tablespoon of the oil over medium heat.
3. Add the onions, garlic, and ginger and saute, stirring occasionally till they soften.
4. Add in allspice and nutmeg and saute 2 more minutes.
5. Put the mixture in the bowl with the bread crumbs.
6. Add the black beans, rice, and chopped chile pepper.
7. Using a potato masher, mash and stir the ingredients till they are well mixed.
8. Once they’re well mixed, add the salt and pepper to taste and give it another quick stir or two to incorporate the spices. If the mixture is too wet, add more bread crumbs.
9. In a large skillet (you can reuse the one you used earlier), heat the remaining oil over medium heat.
10. Form the burger mixture into patties and cook them 4 minutes per side or till nicely browned.
11. Serve the burgers in the hamburger buns with your choice of condiments and toppings.

3 thoughts on “Jamaican Veggie Burgers

    • Meeeeee too! I was a bit worried that maybe it’d be too much…but if anything I may up the amounts of some of the stuff for the next batch.

  1. Pingback: Vanilla Apple Baked Dessert Rice « A Poet in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

