Irish Colcannon

Irish Colcannon

Jake isn’t a huge fan of baked eggs, but when I saw this filling recipe in my favorite cookbook, “The Encyclopedia of Vegetables and Vegetarian Cooking,” I figured it would be a great filling dish for one of these days when Jake comes home from his morning working for Habitat for Humanity with a ravenous appetite. The trick with getting Jake to eat baked eggs is that I have to beat them, rather than just drop the entire egg with its whole yolk onto the dish. He doesn’t like the baked whole yolks. If I beat the eggs first he will at least humor me and try the stuff. Good friends Bobby and Cassidy (and their kickass brood of hilarious children) also love recipes with baked eggs. Every time I make a recipe that calls for cracking eggs over a casserole dish and baking them in an oven I think of them. Cassidy’s sister Trista, who was chatting with me via Gmail chat as I was putting this all together thought it sounded yummy. I was actually going to post this a little later this week, as I think it’d be a perfect weekend brunch, but Trista seemed so excited about the recipe that I thought I’d better post it for her asap. So I know they’ll be happy to read this recipe. As I said before, this’d be a perfect weekend brunch recipe. Pair it with a mimosa and watch the afternoon approach from your backyard lounge chair. This is also a great way to use up any leftover mashed potatoes. The recipe is pretty simple, so it’s easily adjusted if you have fewer potatoes than this recipe calls for. Wait a sec…who ever has leftover mashed potatoes? Hmmmm. Never mind. Just make it.

Irish Colcannon
2 pounds potatoes, cut into even pieces
8 oz. crispy green cabbage, shredded
2 scallions, chopped
butter or margarine, to taste
nutmeg
salt and black pepper
4 large eggs
3 oz. aged cheese, grated

1. Boil the potatoes till tender and mash well.
2. Preheat the oven to 375F.
3. Lightly saute the cabbage till just tender but still crisp.
4. Drain the cabbage and mix them into the potato with the scallions, butter, nutmeg, salt and pepper.
5. Transfer the mixture to a shallow baking dish.
6. If you’re using the eggs whole, make 4 wells on the top of the mixture and crack an egg into each one. If you’re making a Jake-inspired colcannon, beat the 4 eggs in a bowl and pour it over the top of the mixture equally.
7. Sprinkle with cheese and bake 12 minutes or till eggs are just set and the cheese is melted.

2 thoughts on “Irish Colcannon

    • I’ve been finding a lot of used copies of this cookbook in bookstores in Tucson. I found one (probably should’ve bought it for a friend) in paperback. I found another in hardback and bought that one as a gift for a friend. I’m hoping to find 2 more copies…one for another friend and one for a giveaway…

Leave a Reply

