Warm Spicy Dal

Jake and I decided a few weeks ago that we need to start making more curry. Practice makes perfect and we’d love to say we make good Indian food. Jake started off with a great vegetable curry and we’ve been eating curry or dal once a week since then. This recipe for a really simple dal is from my favorite cookbook, “The Encyclopedia of Vegetables and Vegetarian Cooking.” We didn’t have the bell pepper the original recipe called for, but we did have a bunch of celery. So we subbed that in. It was pretty tasty that way, so I can’t wait to see how good it is with the bell pepper in it. We have a few more Indian recipes up our sleeve to try in the next few weeks. It should be a tasty spring here.

Warm Spicy Dal
8 oz. yellow split peas
2 onions, chopped
1 large bay leaf
2 1/2 cups vegetable stock
salt and black pepper
2 teaspoons black mustard seeds
2 tablespoons melted butter
1 garlic clove, crushed
1-inch cube fresh ginger, grated
2 stalks celery, diced
1 teaspoon ground turmeric
1 teaspoon garam masala
3 tomatoes, skinned and chopped
fresh cilantro, to serve

1. Put the split peas, 1 onion and the bay leaf into a saucepan with the stock and cover.
2. Simmer 25 minutes. Season lightly with salt and pepper towards the end of the cooking time.
3. In a separate large wok, fry the mustard seeds in the butter 30 seconds, or till they start to pop.
4. Add the remaining onion to the pan as well as the garlic, grated ginger and celery.
5. Saute 5 minutes. Add in the remaining spices and fry a few seconds more.
6. Add the split pea mixture, tomatoes, and a little extra water, if needed to the wok.
7. Cover and simmer another 10 minutes or till liquids are mostly absorbed.
8. Check the seasoning and serve hot garnished with the cilantro.

Warm Spicy Dal

3 thoughts on “Warm Spicy Dal

  1. I am literally eating this right now. It tastes amazing despite realizing as I started this recipe that I was missing most of the ingredients. I made the following (very much in a pinch) variations: Used green split peas instead of yellow, water & bouillon cubes in place of vegetable stock, ground mustard instead of black mustard seeds, ground ginger instead of fresh, and diced tomatoes instead of real ones. I didn’t have green pepper OR celery so I left that out entirely. So really, my version ended up nothing like yours… except that I think the combo of spices is perfect and it still tastes great! Next time I make it I will try to be a bit more prepared… 🙂

    • Thanks for sharing your changes! It’s always nice to have friends tell me what they did and whether or not it works so I know for the future (I’m just SO lazy). Next time I come home we should get together and cook.

      • we should totally cook together! And yeah, I like sharing my changes, because on sites like All Recipes I find the comments really helpful. Plus, recipes are really just guidelines, right? 🙂 Still eating the leftovers of this, and I think it’s getting better as the spices blend overtime. yum!

Leave a Reply

