Carrots and Red Bells with Pineapple

Carrots and Red Bells with Pineapple

We used a recipe from my “1000 Vegetarian Recipes from Around the World” cookbook as a starting point for this. Then we added a bit of our own crazy flair. I told Jake that this was going to be a nice side dish kind of recipe, so he found some lovely chicken sausages on sale at the local organic food store to eat alongside of this. I ate mine alongside brown rice with a bit of orange juice added in as it cooked to keep the fruit theme going here. I was going to add some raisins too, but I thought that might be overkill, so I just added some dried parsley close to the end of cooking time. Anyway, here’s my secrety secret for the week: I do not care for pineapple. In fact, as a kid I had a pretty strong hatred for it. It was the only fruit in the canned fruit cocktail that I WOULDN’T touch. Actually, that’s a lie. I also didn’t like eating the peaches because I thought they were slimy like worms. That changed too. Haha! Anyway, it’s only in recent years, maybe the past decade, that I’ve been able to tolerate it. Otherwise its inclusion in recipes tended to make me irrationally upset. The other secret that isn’t so secret because I’ve spilled the beans on it before, is that I don’t like carrots a ton. I am pretty fine with them. I’ll eat them. I love them raw with dip for a snack. But I’m not a huge fan of them as a solo cooked dish. Jake loves carrots and pineapple. I made this recipe for him. And the best part is that I ended up enjoying it as well. Don’t you love it when things work out that way? This recipe was super easy and fast to make. Remember that the thinner your carrot rounds are the faster they’ll cook (aka: don’t start the sausage too late like we did). As you can see from the pictures, I left the pineapple in chunks for the recipe. I kind of wish I’d cut each chunk in half, because a 7 oz. can isn’t much pineapple to have to share. Cutting each chunk in half would’ve given an illusion of more. But it was delicious, so who cares in the end right? Confession: We didn’t remember the parsley till after we took the photo for the blog post (though at least I included it in my rice). By then we were so consumed with consuming that we didn’t care to spend any time taking a new photo.

Carrots and Red Bells with Pineapple
1 tablespoon sunflower oil
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 small onion, finely sliced
1 inch piece ginger root, peeled and diced fine
1-2 garlic cloves, crushed
1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes
1 pound carrots, thinly sliced into rounds
1 red bell pepper, seeded and cut into long thin strips
7 oz. canned pineapple in natural juice
2-3 tablespoons pineapple juice (from the can)
salt and black pepper, to taste
parsley or dill, to garnish

1. Heat the two oils together in a wok.
2. Add the onion and garlic and stir-fry briskly for 3 minutes.
3. Add the red pepper flakes, carrots and red bell pepper. Lower the heat a bit. Continue stir frying for 5 minutes.
4. Add the pineapple and pineapple juice to the wok. Season well. Stir fry till the carrots are tender, but still slightly crisp and the liquid has mostly evaporated.
5. Adjust seasoning. Sprinkle with parsley or dill to garnish. Enjoy!

I’m sorry, but I couldn’t choose a favorite photo! This was so pretty, especially on my green dishes.

Leave a Reply

