Orange Tarragon Chicken

Orange Tarragon Chicken

I love Greg and Katherine. I wish I lived next to them so I could sneak into their kitchen and eat their food when they aren’t home. Kind of like a modern day foodie Goldilocks. Only slightly more deliberately sneaky. I knew Jake was going to love their recipe for Orange Tarragon Chicken. Make sure you check out their recipe, they did stuff differently than me; I added a bit of my own flair to this. Also, their pictures are a whole lot better than mine. I altered the recipe below so it is appropriate for one person as I obviously don’t eat chicken. Jake enjoyed the recipe. He said it was really different from any other marinated chicken he’d had…in a positive way. I bought 2 chicken breasts at the store and made one for him. The other I’m cooking tonight with my Mom’s sneaky shortcut recipe for chicken and gravy (with mashed potatoes, of COURSE). I’ll post that recipe for everyone in a few days.

Orange Tarragon Chicken
1 large chicken breast
1 orange
2 tablespoons jarred jalapeno pepper (or 1 small jalapeno pepper, diced)
1 1/2 tablespoons dried tarragon
1 garlic clove, chopped
1/2 teaspoon grated orange peel
salt and pepper, to taste

1. Juice the oranges and rob them of their orange peel by grating.
2. Combine jalapeno pepper, dried tarragon, garlic, orange peel, salt and pepper in a medium-large mortar and grind with pestle till ingredients form a paste.
3. In a medium dinner bowl, combine orange juice and paste and mix well.
4. Add chicken, spooning mixture over top and bottom to coat thoroughly.
5. Marinate chicken for a minimum of 4 hours.
6. Grill, or fry in a pan over the stove till chicken is cooked through (remember, raw chicken is NOT your friend).
7. Serve immediately, because really: who wants to wait?

Leave a Reply

