Microwave Risotto

This is another recipe fail from “PETA’s Vegan College Cookbook”. I’m actually starting to be really disappointed that I bought the book at all. Rather a waste of money. I have adjusted the times below. Cooking the rice for the four minutes they originally suggest does nothing but BURN the rice. Luckily I was sort of watching so it only burned about half of the rice. Sadly it made the kitchen smell burned. UGH. Terrible. Like most recipes in this book it needed alteration. Here’s what I figured out below. As with most microwavable things, I suggest keeping a close watch to determine whether or not the recipe is working as it is written. Otherwise you get burned rice and scoldings. The only instant rice we had around was instant brown rice, so we used that (hence the very brown color of the rice in this photo). This was okay, after I made my way through the problems with the recipe and got it to come out something like what I think they might have wanted it to look like a little. I will, however, never make it again. Not worthwhile to me and terrible compared to REAL risotto. I’d rather just make real risotto by myself or go out to a restaurant and order it.

Microwave Risotto
3 cups hot veggie broth
1 teaspoon onion powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
pinch pepper
2 tablespoons vegan margarine
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 cup uncooked instant rice
1/4 cup nutritional yeast

1. Combine the broth, salt, onion powder, and pepper and set aside. In a glass pie plate, nuke the margarine and olive oil 30 seconds.
2. Add the uncooked rice, stirring to coat with oil. Cover with a paper towel to prevent spattering and cook 2 minutes.
3. Pour the broth into the rice and stir. Nuke for 8 minutes. Stir then cook another 8 minutes.
4. Remove from the microwave and immediately stir in the nutritional yeast. Serve.

Microwave Risotto

2 thoughts on “Microwave Risotto

    • It was SO terrible. That cookbook is not really worth what I paid for it. I’d say I’d find a way to tweak it but honestly…I’ll just make real risotto. HA!

Leave a Reply

