Tasty Tofu Pita

I made this to take to my volunteering with me. I took this original recipe from “PETA’s Vegan College Cookbook” and altered it a bit to fit the ingredients I have on hand here at Jim and Karen’s house. Instead of making this into a sandwich, as the cookbook originally suggested, I thought I’d squish it into a pita. My logic was that this way I wouldn’t have to worry about losing anything when I threw it into my lunch bag to take to work. Actually, by the end of the week I was using it almost like a dip, using the pita pieces as a shovel and scooping the mixture and a bit of veggies into my drooling mouth. I added the suggestion of extra spices because after making this the recipe way the first time I decided it would be good spiced up with a bit of black pepper and paprika the second time around. I’m sure other spices would be great too. The photo below is of a plain open-faced sandwich because someone ate all the rest of my pita bread (sad!). But you get the idea, I think.

Tasty Tofu Pita
8 oz. firm tofu, mashed
2 teaspoons onion powder
1 tablespoon roasted sunflower seeds
1 tablespoon vegan mayo
1 tablespoon relish
2 teaspoons mustard
2 teaspoons soy sauce
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
any extra spices, to taste
4 halves pita bread
2 leaves lettuce
4 cherry tomatoes, halved

1. Mix the tofu, onion powder, sunflower seeds, mayo, relish, mustard, soy sauce, and garlic powder in a bowl.
2. Spread into two pita halves.
3. Stuff halves with lettuce and tomatoes and any remaining veggies.

Tasty Tofu Pita…open-faced on bread instead.

Leave a Reply

