Austrian Pickled Red Onions

After my successful foray into Pickled Baby Cucumbers, I decided to continue with red onions when this recipe for Austrian Pickled Red Onions appeared in my email inbox. I had miraculous visions of veggie burgers piled high with pickled red onions and biting down into a juicy tome of flavor. The recipe claims they’ll keep up to 2 weeks in the fridge, but I highly doubt if they last into next week, especially with a house full of hungry men. I made a lot more of these than I originally thought I would because of the family gathering last week. The best part about this recipe is the lovely smell of cooking onions that filled the house and stayed for about an hour afterwards. You can see them in the photo below topping some tofu I marinated with my favorite tofu marinade and had the men grill at the family gathering when Hallie and Amiel (Jake’s sister and her husband) were home. I really loved these onions. Normally I’m not certain about pickling things. Sometimes I think it’s beautiful and sometimes it just ruins everything. I DO think it’s better the faster you eat them. What can I say? I like things fresh. I made these on a Monday and we pulled them out to eat on a Thursday, so they had plenty of time to pickle without losing any of their freshness. Try this for your next bbq. It was really easy and tasty and looks quite impressive.

Austrian Pickled Red Onions
1/2 cup apple cider vinegar
1/3 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon black peppercorns
1/2 teaspoon salt
6 whole allspice
1 small clove garlic, peeled
1 small bay leaf
1 large red onion, halved and thinly sliced (2 cups)

1. Bring vinegar, 1/2 cup water, sugar, peppercorns, salt, allspice, garlic, and bay leaf to a boil in saucepan.
2. Add onion slices, and return to a boil. Remove from heat, and transfer to bowl or jar.
3. Cover, and cool. Let stand at room temperature 24 hours before serving.

Austrian Pickled Red Onions

Leave a Reply

