Zucchini with Cilantro Sauce

This recipe from the “Moosewood Low-Fat Favorites Cookbook” was fast, easy and definitely lowfat. It was a bit spicy for my tastes, but it certainly woke my tongue up from the heat stupor it’s been in the past few 100+ degrees days. This is listed in the book as a side, but I ate it as my main dish along with rice. It was certainly easy and fast and cleanup was easy too. This is something I highly appreciate now that I have little time to do everything myself. That said, I don’t think I’ll be making this again any time soon. It was really TOO spicy for me and it really does seem (from the ingredients) that the point of this dish is to be spicy. There are other things I would rather do with my zucchini than cook it up in this recipe.

Zucchini with Cilantro Sauce
1 1/2 pounds zucchini
2 tablespoons lemon juice
1/4 teaspoon hot sauce
2 tablespoons chopped cilantro
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon black pepper

1. Remove the ends of the zucchini and cut it into sticks.
2. Bring a couple inches of water to boil on high heat in a large pot. Fill a steamer basket or colander with the zucchini and lower it into the pot. If you don’t have either, place the zucchini in a ceramic bowl, place the bowl in the COOL water and THEN bring it to a boil. Cover the pot and steam for 3 minutes or till crisp-tender.
3. While the zucchini is steaming, mix the lemon juice, hot sauce, cilantro, salt and pepper in a small bowl.
4. Drain the zucchini and toss it in a serving bowl with the sauce mixture. Serve hot or at room temperature.

Zucchini with Cilantro Sauce

2 thoughts on “Zucchini with Cilantro Sauce

Leave a Reply

