Southeast Asian Coconut Zucchini

Southeast Asian Coconut Zucchini

This recipe from the “Moosewood Restaurant Low-Fat Favorites Cookbook” was my treat for dinner on Friday evening for being a good girl and doing a heck of a lot of work over the week. I deserved this meal. Mainly because I made the responsible decision to stay close to home over the Labor Day weekend and apply for jobs and finish homework and do other house-y things rather than take the longer vacation to New Mexico that I had originally planned. It’s more fun to travel with Jake anyway. Instead, I headed down to the Chiricahua National Monument south of Tucson for some fun hiking. I will definitely go back in the near future. I did this as a day trip, but it made for a LONG day. I think next time I go I’ll bring my camping gear and stay overnight. I’ll also bring my bike. Despite being amongst small mountains, the roads and trails are actually not very steep which makes them quite easy to hike (I should know, hiking is definitely NOT my MOST favorite thing to do but I do it because I like to see these places). I am thinking of dropping my bike at the top point, driving the car back to the Visitor’s Center and starting to hike from there to Massai Point (which you CAN do…smart National Park Service people) which is about 9 miles, maybe more depending on which way I go. Then I can coast happily back down on my bike. Luxurious.

Anyway, this was a great dish. I ate it by itself because I was watching my calories, but it would go equally well with some white or even brown rice and maybe even some fried noodles. I didn’t have mint (I asked a friend in Phoenix to care for my mint plant over the summer and haven’t been able to get up to get it back yet) so I subbed in some peppermint extract. Remember when subbing in extracts that they are super concentrated and a little goes a long way. By the way, this is the FULL recipe. I halved this since it was only me eating. And I still had leftovers. Delicous leftovers. Enjoy everyone!

Southeast Asian Coconut Zucchini
5 cups zucchini, cut into cubes
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 chile, minced with seeds removed
1/2 teaspoon turmeric
1 teaspoon vegetable oil
1/2 medium onion, chopped
2 tablespoons lime juice
2 tablespoons chopped basil
2 tablespoons chopped mint
1/4 cup coconut milk
salt to taste

1. Saute the zucchini, garlic, chile and turmeric in the oil in a large skillet or wok for 5 minutes, stirring constantly.
2. Add the onion, lime juice, basil, mint and coconut milk.
3. Cover and cook on low heat for 10 minutes or till the zucchini is tender. Stir occasionally, adding bits of water to prevent the mixture from sticking.
4. Add salt to taste and serve hot with rice.

Chiricahua National Monument

I hiked down to the bottom of the canyon and then back up. It wasn’t hard. Parents, plan your next trip!

Leave a Reply

