Zucchini-Corn Filling

Zucchini-Corn Filling

This term I’m working an intense gradate assistantship and an internship besides my normal coursework. And Jake is still in Alaska like a loser (LOL). So by the time I get home every night I have a million things to do and never enough time to do it in. Now when I say this, it’s not really true. In previous years I’ve been lucky enough to have jobs that gave me a lot of free time or at least allow me to create my own schedule. This is the first time I’ve had a real, grown-up 40 hour a week job (previous jobs were as an English teacher in China where I only worked 14 hours face-to-face plus at home grading and lesson planning, and teaching assistantships to go along with my graduate school, all of which afforded me a nice flexible schedule…I was lucky). Anyway, I’m still getting the rhythm of a “real” life, and in the meantime it is a bit stressful some days. So I’ve been looking for healthy, quick meals to make for dinner and healthy meals to pack for my lunches. I found a good one in this recipe for Zucchini-Corn Filling from the Vegetarian Times website. It’s quite healthy and hearty so it’s perfect for dinner. I love the lime in this too. It perks up the taste and makes my mouth feel all sorts of fresh and alive. Try it the next time you’re on a time crunch.

Zucchini-Corn Filling
3 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 small onion, chopped
6 cloves garlic, peeled and thinly sliced
2 medium zucchini, cut into 1/2-inch cubes
1/2 cup fresh or frozen corn kernels
1/2 cup cooked black beans
1/4 cup coarsely chopped cilantro
2 tablespoons lime juice
Chili powder, for sprinkling
1 teaspoon basil
cheese, to taste

1. Heat oil in skillet over medium-high heat. Add onion and garlic, and sauté 7 minutes.
2. Add zucchini and corn, and sauté 7 minutes more.
3. Stir in beans, and cook 2 minutes.
4. Stir in cilantro, chili powder, basil and lime juice.
5. Spoon into tacos or tortillas, and sprinkle with cheese, if using

One thought on “Zucchini-Corn Filling

  1. Pingback: Zucchini and Corn Quesadillas | A Poet in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

