Fried Tofu Sandwich

I got this recipe from “The Garden of Vegan” cookbook and I was so impressed with it that I’ll be putting it into my regular rotation. It was fast and salty and tasty. All good things now that my schedule is much crazier than it used to be. Now, this isn’t my first time frying tofu in slabs. I can get a nice golden tinge on my tofu. But this time I just couldn’t help thinking about how lovely it is to fry a thick or thin slab of tofu to the perfect color and how great it is to bite into when it’s all done. YUM! I’m getting hungry just thinking about it. As you can see below, I used mayo and coarse grain mustard, mixed together, for my sandwich. I thought about ketchup and mustard, but they’re such strong flavors that I didn’t want to mask the taste of the tofu right off the bat. A little bit of each might be pretty good on this, but the tofu has such a lovely salty taste that I’d hate to overdo it. I also dearly wished I had some fresh tomatoes and red onions to go on top of this. However at this point in the week I hadn’t been to the store in a while and I was out of a lot of things.

Fried Tofu Sandwich
1 16-oz. package extra firm tofu, drained and sliced to fit on a piece of bread
1/2 tablespoon toasted sesame oil
1 tablespoon Braggs
1/2 teaspoon of all-purpose spice, your favorite bought brand or your own homemade mix
2-4 slices whole grain bread
mayo or other condiments, to taste
your choice of veggies to top

1. Saute the tofu in oil and Braggs in a large frying pan till browned.
2. Sprinkle the all-purpose seasoning on both sides and flip, cooking the other side till browned.
3. Put the sandwich together using the bread, mayo, other condiments and whatever veggies you have chosen.
4. Serve open faced or between two slices of bread.

Fried Tofu Sandwich

4 thoughts on “Fried Tofu Sandwich

  1. I really really want to eat that RIGHT NOW. Not sure about later. Maybe. It seems so appealing at this moment that I can’t determine what I would think of it at any other time. It would never be UNappealing. Maybe I’ll buy tofu on the way home.

  2. Pingback: Kung Pao Sandwiches | A Poet in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

