Stuffed Zucchini

Stuffed Zucchini

When I went home to Ohio for my cousin’s wedding I brought back all of my cookbooks that had been waiting so patiently for me at home all this time. One of them, the “Vegetarian Cuisine” cookbook, was the first vegetarian cookbook I ever bought. It’s a decent cookbook. A lot of the recipes take more time and effort than I have to put into my cooking these days, and some recipes are better than others, but it’s not a bad cookbook by any means. I have been meaning to stuff a zucchini since…I don’t know…forever! And the recipe for a stuffed zucchini in this book was quite simple and contained ingredients I keep around the house all the time anyways. I love that! This was not my most favorite recipe, but it was simple. I will tweak it a bit next time to account for my own tastes. It was sweeter than I like my zucchini to be. Anyway, I am definitely on the prowl for new stuffed zucchini recipes…yum!

Stuffed Zucchini
4 medium zucchinis
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 small onions, very finely chopped
1 medium carrot, grated
1/2 teaspoon paprika
1 teaspoon cumin seeds
1/2 teaspoon turmeric
4 oz. creamed coconut, grated
fresh herbs, such as parsley, to garnish

1. Preheat the oven to 375F.
2. Cut the zucchini in half lengthwise.
3. Remove the flesh of the zucchini using a teaspoon by scoring the flesh in diagonals to make little diamonds, taking care not to cut all the way through, then scooping out the flesh. Leave 1/4-inch of flesh in the shell.
4. Finely chop the flesh and set it aside.
5. Sauté the onion in the oil, stirring till the onion is softened.
6. Add the carrot, chopped zucchini flesh and spices and cook, stirring frequently, till softened.
7. Remove the pan from the heat and add the creamed coconut.
8. Place the zucchini halves in a greased casserole dish.
9. Put the mixture into the zucchini shells, making sure to cover the exposed flesh.
10. Cook 30-45 minutes till the zucchini shells are soft.
11. Serve garnished with fresh herbs or a dollop of white sauce.

One thought on “Stuffed Zucchini

Leave a Reply

