Multicolored Pasta Salad

Every once in a while everyone loves a good pasta salad. This recipe from the “Vegetarian Cuisine” cookbook combines a lot of the things one might expect from a pasta salad along with something I did not expect…cauliflower. I have never had cauliflower in a pasta salad before but I must say it was quite tasty. This was a fun dish to make. I had a side dish for my lunches and dinners all of last week. It was a nice change from the vegan egg salad I’d been having. Also, I don’t usually make pasta salad, in fact, I don’t think I ever have. I’m not a huge fan of massive amounts of mayo, even if it is just Veganaise. But between this salad and the vegan egg salad I’ve been making the past 2 weeks, I’ve been eating a lot of it. This week I decided I needed to take some time off of that, so it’s going to be a bean and cucumber salad kind of week for me. Yum! Anyway, this is a tasty classic perfect for the last of these hot summer days. Make it on a Saturday morning and use it as an excuse to invite people over for a BBQ that night.

Multicolored Pasta Salad
8 oz. farfalle or pasta bows
3 medium carrots, sliced into thin rounds
1 cup cauliflower, broken into florets
1 cup frozen peas
1/2-3/4 cup mayo
4 hard-boiled eggs, chopped
fresh herbs to garnish, your choice

1. Cook the pasta according to the package directions, till al dente. Rinse, drain thoroughly and set aside to cool.
2. Cook the carrots in a saucepan of boiling water, covered for 5 minutes. Then add the cauliflower and cook another 4 minutes. Add the peas and continue boiling till cooked.
3. Drain the vegetables and set aside to cool.
4. Once everything is cool combine the pasta and veggie mix in a large bowl and mix well.
5. Add the mayo and toss to mix.
6. Lastly add the hard-boiled eggs and mix carefully.
7. Serve immediately, garnished with herb sprigs.

Multicolored Pasta Salad

Leave a Reply

