Coffee and Cream Martini

I’ve been eyeing this recipe for a Coffee and Cream Martini for about a week now. I was very excited when I realized I had all the ingredients in my house already. That meant I could come home some night, decide I needed to have one and just make it…no prior planning involved. I sat back and bided my time. The other day was just a BAD day. I felt thrown off all day at work and things didn’t go any better on the way home. So I decided it was a sign that I shouldn’t try to go swimming that night as I usually do and that I should stay home and have a drink. This was fabulous. It is also super dangerous. Everything going into this drink is alcoholic. I forgot that as I was drinking. The recipe says it makes 1 serving, but I had enough for 1 and a half martini glasses full…and I think my glasses are the bigger ones. So be careful. Share this with a friend or don’t drive anywhere! Granted, I don’t often drink because a) I’m a poor as heck grad student who’d rather spend her money on fresh raspberries and red onions than drinks and b) Jake hasn’t been home so it’s not as much fun to make myself a drink or go out for a beer alone (Yes I do have friends, but one of my favorite things to do is just go out for a beer with my guy). The best tip I can offer for this drink is to make some coffee ice cubes, as I did for the Super Creamy Coffee Sipper. Watered down drinks are a sin anyway, so making coffee ice cubes insures that THIS drink only gets watered down with more coffee flavor. I specifically thought of this because I frequently fill my martini shaker much fuller than I meant to and so sometimes the leftovers have to sit for a tiny bit and wait till I’m done with my glass. Check out the recipe below and then check out the original recipe, which differs slightly from mine. For instance, I don’t consider chocolate syrup “optional.” I also used instant coffee granules (which I keep around for baking, not drinking…ew) because I never have liked something chewy in my martini. Keep in mind that you don’t have to have a martini shaker for this. You could use any container and a long spoon or pair of chopsticks to mix it up.

Coffee and Cream Martini
2 tablespoons raw sugar
1 teaspoon instant coffee granules
Coffee ice cubes
1 1/2 ounces vodka
1 1/2 ounces Kahlua
1 1/2 ounces Irish cream liqueur
Chocolate syrup

1. Sprinkle the raw sugar and coffee granules onto a plate, mixing them together well.
2. Either wet the rim of your martini glass OR carefully apply an almost imperceptibly thin layer of chocolate syrup to the rim, using your finger.
3. Hold the glass upside down and coat the rim in the sugar and coffee mixture by dipping. Coat as much of the rim as possible.
4. Fill your martini shaker 3/4 of the way with the coffee ice cubes.
5. Add the vodka, Kahlua, and Irish cream liqueur. Stir till combined or put the lid on the martini shaker and shake to combine. If you are shaking, the mixture is going to foam. Let it sit for about 30 seconds after you set it down.
6. Drizzle the chocolate syrup on the inside of your prepared martini glass.
7. Strain the coffee martini mixture into the glass and serve immediately.

Coffee and Cream Martini

The Slow Roasted Italian

– See more at: http://theslowroasteditalian.blogspot.com/2013/02/peach-margarita.html#more

6 thoughts on “Coffee and Cream Martini

  1. Pingback: Grapefruit and Rosewater Margaritas for Ladies Night | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  2. Pingback: Coffee-Rum Smoothies | A Poet in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

