Lazy Vegetarian Tomato Soup

Lazy Vegetarian Tomato Soup

This soup is the brainchild of me and too many other things to do. I’ve been quite busy while Jake was gone. I certainly missed having him around to help with things. He’s such a great helper. Anyhow, I came home from work one night with a ton of things I needed to do and, of course, not enough time to do them in. I decided to forgo a more complex meal and cook something simple instead. A while ago I made a version of tomato soup called Alaskan Tomato Soup, which mainly seemed to hold the name Alaska because that’s where its inventor hailed from. I wasn’t the hugest fan of that soup, but I am of this one. But I used the idea of tofu in that soup as inspiration for this one. That soup was so chunky that I felt like it forgot one of the blessings of tomato soup…the smooth sliding silk of it. That said, I’m also a huge fan of chunky soups and prefer them to slidey ones. The chunks in this soup come from red lentils, which work really well in tomato-based dishes and cubes of firm tofu. Tofu doesn’t count in my mind as a chunk though, because it’s so soft it’s almost effortless to eat. The lazy part comes from the fact that I didn’t even want to take the time to cut up onions and garlic. It’s okay though, because this also keeps the soup less chunky. The great thing about this soup? With all the red lentils and tofu cubes it is packed full of fiber and protein. And I think we can all agree that’s a great thing.

Lazy Vegetarian Tomato Soup
1 tablespoon olive oil
1/2 cup red lentils
1 block extra firm tofu, drained and cut into cubes
1 can diced tomatoes
1 tablespoon onion powder
1 tablespoon garlic powder
3 tablespoons dried parsley
1 teaspoon dried basil
1 teaspoon oregano
a dash of red chili flakes
1 tablespoon flax seeds
salt and pepper, to taste

1. In a medium saucepan, heat the olive oil on medium heat and add the red lentils. Cook for a few minutes, stirring frequently.
2. Add the canned tomatoes, onion powder, garlic powder, parsley, basil, oregano, chili flakes and flax seed. Stir to combine and cook 5-7 minutes.
3. Add vegetable broth and stir to combine. Cook till the red lentils are almost fully cooked. Then add the tofu. Cover and simmer till lentils are fully cooked.
4. Season with salt and pepper and serve hot with toasty bread or a grilled cheese.

Leave a Reply

