Black Bean Spread

I made this recipe from “The Garden of Vegan” cookbook as a snack while Jake was still in Alaska. I sometimes get annoyed when I have to use my blender. I wasn’t in the mood to blend this as the recipe commanded, so I got out my trusty potato masher instead. However, I didn’t really chop the red onions fine enough. In retrospect, I don’t really know what I was thinking. So you can either mash the mixture or blend it; whatever you feel like doing. I have a hunch that this may be one of those recipes in which it’s smarter to use the blender. This definitely would count more as a “spread” if it had been blended and the flavors would have been more balanced. I had been planning to dip crackers in it either way, so it didn’t really change my projected end use. I wanted to find a link to the crackers I have pictured here as they are my new favorite crackers in all the world. But I couldn’t find a link directly to them online. What I can tell you is that they are from Sprouts Farmers Market (which is conveniently located right beside the gym where I swim laps) and they are like heaven. They’re actually the Sprouts brand crackers…not one of the fancier ones. I’ve tried their flatbread, whole wheat and multigrain flavors, but I have to say that I absolutely ADORE their fiesta flavor. It has, amongst other things, a hint of chili and paprika and I could eat a whole sleeve of them in one sitting without anything else if my stomach was bigger and someone didn’t stop me. Sprouts isn’t located everywhere, but if you live near one I suggest you pick them up the next time you drive by. Yum! They go really well with this recipe and probably with others too, like one of my personal favorites: Fresh Red Pepper Jam.

Black Bean Spread
2 15-oz. cans black beans, drained and rinsed
1 small red onion, chopped
3 tablespoons fresh cilantro
1 garlic clove, chopped
1 tablespoon all-purpose spice
1 teaspoon cumin
2 tablespoons lime juice
1/8 teaspoon salt

1. Combine all ingredients in a blender and blend till smooth. Or combine in a large mixing bowl and mash with a potato masher.

Black Bean Spread

One thought on “Black Bean Spread

Leave a Reply

