Cauliflower and Cabbage in Walnut Cheese Sauce

Cauliflower and Cabbage in Walnut Cheese Sauce


Oh no! My post is a bit late today. It’s 6:30pm here in Tucson and my newest recipe which features roasted carrots is in the oven at the moment. This recipe, however, is a lot simpler and a lot more friendly on those too-hot-to-turn-on-the-stove days. It’s from my “Vegetarian Cuisine” cookbook, which you can see beneath the bowl in the picture above. It’s all doable in the microwave. I know a lot of you are gasping. I too, refrain from using the microwave all the time. In fact I didn’t even own one until I met Jake. I used to heat leftovers up on the stove. It was no problem. I was determined to live life microwave free. And honestly, it’s not that difficult. But then that Old Jake came along and just INSISTED that we have one because it made things SO much easier. So now we have one. Oh well. And every once in a while it’s fun to test out these microwave recipes. Obviously you can make this on the stove if you’d like. Just boil or steam the cauliflower and cabbage in some water till tender and make the sauce in a pan on the stove just like you would any cream sauce. It’s easy enough to alter. That said, you may also need to adjust your microwave times compared to the ones below. Microwaves can be calibrated to higher or lower powers depending on the brand, etc. So don’t be surprised if you need a little extra time to do some of these steps. My steaming took me 5 extra minutes, for example. But I’ve left the recipe pretty much the same below so that you can go from the original as you make your dish. I also want to take a minute to warn my readers about the peculiarities of storing foods. Some things are easy. You know you can keep onions and garlic and potatoes outside the fridge (at least until you break into them). But did you know that you should also refrigerate your walnuts? I stupidly left mine in a cupboard for some reason over the summer. Even though I know better. Tucson being the desert and usually 90-100+ degrees over the summer, that was a WAY stupid move. When I got back OF COURSE the walnuts had gone rancid. I had to throw away half a bag and it killed me! So this is my reminder to all of you out there who don’t know better or who have a tendency to do things without thinking (like me…oops!). Keep your walnuts pleasantly cool and they’ll be pleasant for you to eat.

Cauliflower and Cabbage in Walnut Cheese Sauce
1 large cauliflower, broken into small florets
1 small green cabbage, shredded
4 tablespoons butter
1/2 cup wholewheat flour
2 1/4 cups soy milk or regular milk
1 cup Cheddar cheese, grated
3/4 cup shelled walnuts, chopped
nutmeg, to garnish

1. Put the cauliflower and cabbage in a large microwave-safe bowl with 1 cup of water. Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and pierce with a knife to create ventilation holes.
2. Cook the veggies in the microwave on high for 10 minutes or till they are cooked but still slightly crunchy.
3. Place the butter and flour in a microwave-safe bowl and mix together. Blend in the milk and cook on high for 2 minutes.
4. Add the cheese and walnuts to the sauce mixture and mix thoroughly. Cook on high 2 minutes till the cheese is melted.
5. Drain the vegetables thoroughly and transfer to a microwave-safe serving dish. Pour on the sauce and cook on high for a few minutes before serving. Sprinkle with nutmeg.

Leave a Reply

