Chickpea Burgers

Chickpea Burgers

I have decided that this will be the week of ORANGE! Every recipe I post this week will be orange colored. This started as a mere coincidence, but I have decided to embrace it. Since I’m embracing this week of orange, I’ll be posting a few extra recipes other than my normal Monday and Wednesday posts. I hope you all enjoy it. You should also stayed tuned in to my Facebook page this week as I’ll be posting other yummy recipes that follow this week’s theme that I love from other blogs and I’ll be asking blogging buddies to come post their favorite orange recipe on my page as well.

This first recipe is probably the least orange colored of all of them, but I think the golden-brown color still makes it count. This recipe is from the “Vegetarian Cuisine” cookbook and I am quite happy with it on many levels. First of all, I’ve been looking for a good chickpea burger recipe to make and this one came out quite tasty. Secondly, I love this recipe because it uses ingredients that I always keep in the house anyway. This means I can come home and whip it up any old time I want. Finally, as you can see, this recipe is quite simple. It is an excellent base recipe to which you can add any extra spice or what-have-you to create your own masterpiece. Next time I’m trying ground chipotle. Also, if I can convince you to eat these burgers topped with a few leaves of basil as you see in the photo accompanying this post then I think you will be quite pleased with the result. Yum!

Chickpea Burgers
2 15-oz. cans chickpeas, drained
2 small onions, finely chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 medium potatoes, cooked and mashed
2 tablespoons soy sauce
2 teaspoons lemon juice
black pepper, to taste
parsley or fresh basil, to garnish

to coat:
plain wholewheat flour

1. Place the chickpeas in a large bowl and mash well.
2. Add the onions, garlic, mashed potatoes, soy sauce, lemon juice and pepper and mix well.
3. Flour your hands and shape heaped spoonfuls of the chickpea mixture into small burgers.
4. Coat each burger with flour and refrigerate for 1 hour.
5. Heat a little vegetable oil in a frying pan and gently fry the burgers on each side till they turn a nice golden brown.
6. The burgers can be served hot or cold, garnished with fresh parsley and a spicy tomato sauce or chunky relish.

4 thoughts on “Chickpea Burgers

    • You know what, this is going to sound crazy….but I swear the taste of these reminded me of Salisbury Steak. Not the good kind, but the kind you find in tv dinners that your mom makes for a super fast lunch when you’re a kid.

  1. Pingback: The Week of Orange Revisited | A Poet in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

