You Autumn Be Ashamed Bread

Gotta love a spicy chai!


Full of the flavors of fall, this pumpkin bread is the perfect weekend brunch treat. The brandy is technically optional, but who wants to live that way eh? Make sure that you brew the chai strong so the flavors come through. Only a quarter cup of chai tea is needed…but as you can see from the picture I used an entire tea bag to brew that quarter cup. This is no wimpy chai. This bread is really my own concoction. I’m on the search for the perfect fall bread recipe so you can expect to see a lot of bread recipes in the next few months. I’m really missing autumn these days. Being in the desert means that autumn is less pronounced than in places where there are tons of trees with changing colors and colder temperatures. I miss switching over to sweaters and winter coats. It’s been an interesting life in the desert, but I am ready to graduate in December and move on to someplace more suited to my climate preferences. Anyway, creating this bread made me really happy. I woke up early one morning before I had to go to my internship and threw it together. I was a little late that day, but I brought this bread to share and I think that made up for it a bit. As I made this I had a ton of other ideas for spicy bread. I can see this is going to be a big old problem in the next few weeks.

You Autumn Be Ashamed Bread
1 1/2 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon of salt
1 cup sugar
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 cup pumpkin purée
1/2 cup applesauce
1/2 cup olive oil
a dash of brandy
1/4 cup strongly brewed chai tea
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon allspice

1. Preheat oven to 400°F. Butter a 9x5x3-inch loaf pan.
2. In a medium mixing bowl, mix together the flour, salt, sugar, and baking soda.
3. In a smaller bowl, mix the pumpkin, applesauce, oil, brandy, chai, and spices together.
4. Combine the wet ingredients with the dry ingredients, but do not mix too thoroughly.
5. Pour the batter into the loaf pan.
6. Bake a full hour or until a toothpick or skewer poked in the center of the loaf comes out clean.
7. Turn out of the pan and let the bread cool on a rack.

You Autumn Be Ashamed Bread

3 thoughts on “You Autumn Be Ashamed Bread

  1. Pingback: The Week of Orange Revisited | A Poet in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

