Chipotle Pumpkin Chili

Chipotle Pumpkin Chili

First of all, I want to extend TRIPLE thanks to my friends in the blog world and my Facebook fans. It was wonderful to have so many people participate in the Week of Orange. For those of you who missed it, don’t despair! I’ll be posting an entry in the near future with links to all the wonderful recipes that all these wonderful bloggers shared. There are really talented chefs out in this blog world and it makes me happy that we can all benefit from our mutual love of food and cooking. There’s more than one reason to visit the link to this recipe for Pumpkin Chili, which can be found at the In Good Taste blog. There are GREAT step-by-step instructions to making your own pumpkin puree. Plus pictures. Now, I’m REALLY busy with my last semester at school as well as working all the time. So I didn’t have time to make this pumpkin puree from scratch, though I am COMMITTED to learning to make my own pumpkin puree in the very near future. I think it’ll be a weekend sort of thing. This recipe also contained a pound of turkey. And since I don’t eat turkey, I had to either skip it or come up with a substitute. I decided upon black beans as more fiber and protein is a really good idea. I also cut down some of the heat in this recipe. I made it with the original amount of spices and chilies and it was WAY too hot for me. So the recipe below is altered to be much hotter for those of us who like a less spicy chili. Besides being too hot, this recipe was really delicious. Jake isn’t a huge pumpkin fan, but I will make this again. I think I can convince him to love it.

Chipotle Pumpkin Chili
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
1 small onion, chopped
1 green bell pepper, cored, seeded and chopped
2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
1 28-oz. can diced tomatoes, with their liquid
1 15-oz. can pumpkin purée
1 cup amber ale
1 tablespoon chili powder
1 teaspoon ground cumin
Salt and pepper to taste
2 tablespoons chipotles in adobo sauce
1 15-oz. can kidney beans, rinsed and drained
1 15-oz. can black beans, rinsed and drained

1. Heat oil in a large pot over medium high heat.
2. Add onion, bell pepper and garlic and cook, stirring frequently, until tender, about 5 minutes.
3. Add tomatoes, pumpkin, ale, chili powder, cumin, chipotles, salt and pepper and bring to a boil.
4. Reduce heat to medium low and add beans.
5. Cover and simmer, stirring occasionally, for 30 minutes more.
6. Ladle chili into bowls and serve.

4 thoughts on “Chipotle Pumpkin Chili

  1. Pingback: The Week of Orange Revisited | A Poet in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

