The Week of Orange Revisited

Remember a while ago, at the beginning of autumn, when it seemed the leaves would fall forever and pumpkin spice drinks would whittle away at our willpower till insanity ran through our veins along with the sugar? Remember the Week of Orange on this blog and on my Facebook page? It seems like forever ago, but it wasn’t really that long. A bunch of fabulous bloggers shared their favorite orangey recipes. I want to extend a BIG thank you to all of my fabulous blogger friends who made the Week of Orange a massive success! For those of you who missed out, it’s okay. Don’t panic. Below you will find direct links to all of the recipes shared by the other bloggers who stopped by my Facebook page. If you contributed a recipe and I missed it below (I had to go back quite a ways on my Timeline to find these links), send me the link and I’ll add it.

Sumptuous Spoonfuls shared this recipe for Yum Yum Pumpkin Bars. They’re also low-fat and low sugar. Awesome. She also shared this recipe for Sunshine Surprise Muffins. I don’t know what she’s playing at…my diet is going to go right through the window and never come back.

Busy Vegetarian Mom made us all jealous with her awesome crock potting skills in this Creamy Vegan Tomato Basil Soup in the Crock Pot recipe. I have been developing a dangerous love affair with my own crock pot and I’m sure this will only make things worse.

The Food Geek Diary shared some Grilled Peaches with Orange and Tarragon Cream and Balsamic Reduction. I’m excited about this one because I’m still learning how to use tarragon myself.

Alaska from Scratch fixed all our appetizer cravings with this Sweet Potato Hummus with Baked Flour Tortilla Chips recipe. I may have to live in her kitchen for a few weeks the next time I go up to Alaska.

Ally’s Kitchen’s recipe for Rhubarb Brandy Citrus Ginger Jam certainly had my mouth watering. And also searching for a nice slice of multigrain bread to spread it on.

And let’s face it…who didn’t expect Greg and Katherine over at Rufus Food and Spirits Guide to bring the drinks? They set the bar high with THREE recipes for orange colored drinks. Between The Zombie and The Paloma and The Breakfast Martini, I’m pretty sure we’ll all develop new bad habits.

My new friend over at Chocolate for Breakfast shared an inspired recipe for Pumpkin Pudding that looks as sinful as it does delicious. I can’t help but wonder if pairing it with butterscotch pudding would be even more decadent and lovely.

Life Currents combined a TON of my most favorite things in this recipe for Orange-Shallot Tofu with Avocado served on a bed of Roasted Lentils. It looks so beautiful that I might cry. Or eat a whole recipe without sharing with Jake.

The Picky Eater made my autumn season a little sweeter and warmer with this Sweet and Spicy Carrot Bisque. She’s usually a brilliant blogger, but this time she outdid herself.

And then there were the recipes I shared that week:
Chipotle Pumpkin Chili (Mind the heat!)
Pasta with Roasted Carrot Sauce Sweet and Delicious!
Pumpkin Spice Smoothie A recipe I loved and snagged from the Healthful Pursuit blog. Check it out…she’s got some awesome “No-Bake Vegan Cranberry Cheesecake Squares” posted up right now.
You Autumn Be Ashamed Bread My own diabolical concoction.
Chickpea Burgers A really simple, really tasty, basic recipe that you can go on to tamper with till you get it the way YOU want it.

And now, because I can, a picture of our own "son"...Kebab the parakeet!

And now, because I can, a picture of our own “son”…Kebab the parakeet!

9 thoughts on “The Week of Orange Revisited

Leave a Reply

