Kung Pao Sandwiches

Kung Pao Sliders Tofu on wheat bread.

Kung Pao Sliders Tofu on wheat bread.

Holy moly! It’s Monday already! We just got back from seeing “The Hobbit” at a morning showing and I realized I hadn’t posted on the blog yet. Anyway, a few weeks ago I needed a lunch to pack for my last Monday at WACC. Luckily my old friend, The Vegetarian Times website, was there to help me out with their awesome search engine. I didn’t have much in the fridge (shopping trip planned for that Monday evening) but I did manage to find this intriguing recipe for Kung Pao Sliders. I am not a huge fan of sliders. Plus, I didn’t want to go out and buy tiny buns. I already had wheat bread. So the recipe below is altered for a normal sized sandwich, which I consider much more useful on a daily basis. I like this recipe. At the same time I think there are some ways in which it could be improved. For instance, I think next time I make this I’m going to add some ketchup to the sliders marinade to lend it a bit of tomato saucey sweetness. I’m even thinking of adding sweet and sour sauce into the accompanying slaw. That said, this is one of my new favorite tofu sandwiches (the other being this Fried Tofu sandwich recipe). Give it a shot and see for yourself.

Oh! I also have other news! My search for a real person job is over. At the tender age of 29 I’m finally actually employed at the Arizona Historical Society. That means we’ll be sticking around Tucson for a long while. That means I am going to have PLENTY of chances, sans homework distractions, to perfect my understanding of beautiful chile-heated Southwestern cuisine. Plus my job as an archivist is going to be AMAZING. I’m excited, to say the least.

Kung Pao Sliders
for the Sandwich:
1 14-oz. package extra-firm tofu, drained and patted dry
4 tablespoons low-sodium soy sauce
2 tablespoons natural cane sugar
2 teaspoons toasted sesame oil
1 teaspoon cornstarch
slices of wheat bread

for the Slaw:
3 tablespoons low-sodium soy sauce
2 tablespoons vegan mayonnaise
5 teaspoons natural cane sugar
2 tablespoons rice vinegar
2 teaspoons toasted sesame oil
1 clove garlic, minced
⅛ teaspoon ground black pepper
2 medium carrots, julienned
1 medium zucchini, julienned
1/4 cup almonds, slivered or crushed

1. To make the sandwich: Stand the tofu block on one of its ends and cut the block in half lengthwise and then again so you have 4 slices of tofu that will fit nicely on bread.
2. Transfer the tofu to a baking dish.
3. Whisk together soy sauce, sugar, oil, and cornstarch in a small bowl and pour over tofu. Then cover, and chill 1 hour.
4. Meanwhile, make the Slaw by whisking together the soy sauce, mayo, peanut butter, sugar, vinegar, oil, garlic, pepper, and cayenne in a bowl.
5. Stir in the carrots, zucchini, and peanuts. Chill till cool and crunchy.
6. Preheat the oven to 375°F. Drain the tofu and remove from the pan. Sprinkle the pan with a bit of olive oil and transfer the tofu back to the baking dish.
7. Bake the tofu for 25 minutes. 
Then flip, and bake 20 to 25 minutes more, or until crispy.
8. Fill your wheat bread slices with 1 tofu slice and a respectable amount of the Slaw.

Kung Pao Sliders Slaw

Kung Pao Sliders Slaw

Leave a Reply

