Nutty Mushroom Pâté

Nutty Mushroom Pâté

Nutty Mushroom Pâté

This recipe from “The Encyclopedia of Vegetables and Vegetarian Cooking” makes a fabulous dip for crusty bread, pita bread or crackers. I would dare say that it could be used as a sandwich spread akin to a hummus pita sandwich. I liked it that much. I blended mine quite thoroughly, though the recipe said not to. In the case of this recipe it really just depends on your preference. I wouldn’t be picky if I were you. I made this with the leftover pound of mushrooms I bought when Jake went away for a few days. It was pretty yummy, but I doubled the recipe to finish off my mushrooms and since I was the only one eating it I was a little sick of it by the time I was done. But if you were making this for a party or to share with others I think you could definitely make a case for a double batch. The crackers you see in this picture are these amazing slabs that I got from Trader Joe’s and fell in love with immediately. I’m not 100% sure what I’ll do if I ever have to move to a place without Trader Joe’s. Thankfully I don’t have to worry about that for some years now that I have this job in Tucson. The first week of it was an amazing flurry, by the way. Which explains my lack of post-age and also why I’m posting so late today (9pm here in Tucson right now!). I’ll have to work hard to keep up with this blog, but don’t worry. I’m still cooking up a storm.

Nutty Mushroom Pâté
1 onion, chopped
1 garlic clove, chopped
1 tablespoon sunflower oil
2 tablespoons water or vegetable broth
1 tablespoon dry sherry
1 cup chopped white mushrooms
salt and black pepper, to taste
3/4 cup walnuts, chopped
5 oz. low-fat cream cheese
1 tablespoon soy sauce
a few dashes of Worcestershire sauce
fresh parsley, chopped
paprika, to serve

1. In a small-medium saucepan, sauté the onion and garlic in the oil for a few minutes.
2. Increase the heat a bit and add the water, sherry, and mushrooms.
3. Cook about 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.
4. Season with salt and pepper, mix well, and turn off the heat. Let it cool a bit.
5. Gracefully dump the mixture into a blender or food processor.
6. Add the nuts, cheese and sauces.
7. Blend it to your desired consistency. A rough purée will do nicely.
8. Taste for seasoning, adding more if desired.
9. Transfer to a serving dish and serve lightly chilled with chopped parsley and paprika.

Leave a Reply

