Chickpea Curry

Chickpea Curry

Chickpea Curry

Where did I first see this cookbook? I can’t remember offhand, but I think it might have been at Karen’s house last summer. Anyway this recipe is from “The Essential Asian Cookbook” and you know a good curry recipe is worth a lot. The last time I tried a Chickpea-Zucchini Curry I wasn’t that impressed. It was more like a spaghetti sauce than a curry sauce. This one is WAY better, in my opinion. It may even be good enough that I’ll buy the cookbook for myself. I originally snagged the recipe from Karen’s copy. I really like being able to try a few recipes from a cookbook before determining whether or not I should purchase it for my very own. I don’t always get a chance to do that and sometimes I buy a cookbook on impulse without trying a single recipe. But really, cookbooks can get pricey and I think it’s only fair that consumers have access to some recipes to decide whether or not it’s worth it. I’ve also bought my share of bad cookbooks. Maybe if more cookbooks were held up to some consumer scrutiny the quality of writing in cookbooks would increase.

Chickpea Curry
2 15-oz. cans chickpeas, drained with liquid reserved
3 tablespoons butter
2 medium onions, finely chopped
1 teaspoon grated fresh ginger
1/2 teaspoon crushed garlic
1 green chillies, seeded and finely chopped
1/2 teaspoon ground turmeric
2 large well-ripened tomatoes, seeded and chopped
1 tablespoon ground coriander
2 teaspoons garam masala
2 tablespoons lemon juice
2-3 tablespoons fresh chopped cilantro

1. Drain the chickpeas, reserving liquid.
2. Heat the butter in a large pan. Add the onion, ginger, garlic, chilli and turmeric and cook over medium heat till the onion is soft and golden.
3. Add the tomato and cook till soft. Add the coriander and chickpeas and cook for 10 minutes. Add 1 cup of the reserved liquid and cook for a further 10 minutes.
4. Add the garam masala, lemon juice, and coriander and cook gently 2-3 minutes, adding more liquid if needed, to make a sauce.
5. Pour the chickpeas into a serving dish and serve with rice.

One thought on “Chickpea Curry

Leave a Reply

