Millet Pilaf

Millet Pilaf

Millet Pilaf

I’ve always known millet is for the birds. Kebab loves his little millet sticks and it’s a well known treat for parakeets and other birds. I’d heard tell of humans eating this stuff, but had never tried it myself and honestly had not given it too much thought because there are very few recipes for millet floating around in US cuisine ….at least, not many that I’ve seen so far. A while ago I bought a pound of millet in the bulk foods section of my favorite local grocery store and sought to learn about it. I tried putting it in a soup a few weeks back and it was good, but not great. Then Greg and Katherine over at Rufus’ Food and Spirits Guide posted an amazing, easy recipe for millet pilaf. Sold. I’ve provided the ingredient list for you below. However, you’re going to have to go over to Rufus’ Food and Spirits Guide to see the full recipe with instructions. You may notice that my ingredient list varies a bit from theirs. As a vegetarian I obviously subbed vegetable broth for the chicken. I also didn’t have any tomato juice in the house so I subbed in a whole can of diced tomatoes for the tomato juice and just used less water. I can’t imagine EITHER way being a bad choice. As underwhelmed as I was with the millet in my former recipe is about how OVERwhelmed I was with it in this one. It’s TASTY if you know what you’re doing. I’ll be using millet more often in my grain rotation and this recipe in particular more often. Thanks Greg and Katherine! Now get on over there and see what they’re up to….!

Millet Pilaf
1 cup millet
1 can diced tomatoes
1/2 cup vegetable broth
water
1/2 cup minced red onion
Bay leaf
Salt and pepper, to taste
2 tbsp butter

1. Find the recipe instructions via the link above!

Here are a few pictures for you to enjoy, just because:

This lady hangs out in our backyard a lot. (Yes, it IS the female.) She's gotten used to me and will sit within a foot of me now and just chill while I chat with her.

This lady hangs out in our backyard a lot. (Yes, it IS the female.) She’s gotten used to me and will sit within a foot of me now and just chill while I chat with her.

Our Queen of the Night cactus blooms more and more as the summer goes on. This would be a better blossom picture if the cactus was not taller than me.

Our Queen of the Night cactus blooms more and more as the summer goes on. This would be a better blossom picture if the cactus was not taller than me.

2 thoughts on “Millet Pilaf

Leave a Reply

