Plum Poppyseed Muffins

I love plums, but I don’t usually buy them. Now that I think of it, I’m not quite sure why. I was going to make a plum tart, but at the last minute I decided on muffins. Luckily I found this amazing post on Eat. Live. Travel. Write. for plum poppyseed muffins. There’s a reason these muffins are so good…the recipe is from the Smitten Kitchen Cookbook. If you’ve never read the Smitten Kitchen blog you really should start now. These were some of the most lovely muffins I’ve made in a long time. In fact, I’ve never had a bad recipe from the Smitten Kitchen blog. That blog is a sure thing! Anyway, I made a few adjustments to the ingredients in the recipe below but you really need to check out the lovely pictures on the Eat. Live. Travel. Write. blog and get the full baking instructions there. And you should probably buy the Smitten Kitchen Cookbook because let’s face it…it’s only going to make your life BETTER. Now eat some muffins!

Plum Poppyseed Muffins
6 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted, browned and cooled
1 large egg, beaten
1/4 cup raw sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup fat-free or low-fat plain yogurt
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
pinch of ground cinnamon
pinch of ground nutmeg
2 tablespoons poppy seeds
2 cups plums, pitted and diced

Plum Poppyseed Muffins

Plum Poppyseed Muffins
Leave a Reply

