Cauliflower Agrodolce

Cauliflower Agrodolce

Cauliflower Agrodolce

I just tried this recipe from the “Moosewood Restaurant Low-Fat Favorites” cookbook last week. It was pretty good, though I’m not a huge fan of raisins in anything other than desserts. Next time I’ll probably just leave them out. That said, I think that’s largely a personal preference. I loved the sweet and sour nature of this dish. We had this with rice, but I could see where a little buttery couscous would also be delicious with this one. Try it with or without the raisins. See for yourself. I feel like raisins are things that people have strong opinions about. I have a feeling it has something to do with the amount of Sunmaid boxes they got as “treats” when they were kids on Halloween. I remember dressing up as a little old man when I was a kid (maybe 9 years old? And oh yes I DID) and getting so many raisins. I think the two are related. Give it a shot…this recipe, not the odd old man Halloween costume.

Cauliflower Agrodolce
2 cups onions, thinly sliced
3 garlic cloves, sliced
1 teaspoon olive oil
1 large head cauliflower, cut into florets
1 28-oz. can diced tomatoes
2/3 cup raisins
1/2 cup red wine vinegar
salt, pepper, and sugar, to taste

1. Saute the onions and garlic in the olive oil till tender.
2. Add the tomatoes, raisins and vinegar and stir to combine.
3. Cook for 5 minutes and add the cauliflower, stirring to combine. Cook another 10 minutes.
4. Add the salt, pepper and sugar, stirring. Cook 2-3 minutes or till the cauliflower is tender.
5. Serve alongside rice or couscous.

One thought on “Cauliflower Agrodolce

Leave a Reply

